Dr. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, IIT Madras

Dr.Jhunjhunwala received his B.Tech degree from IIT, Kanpur, and his MS and Ph.D degrees from the University of Maine. From 1979 to 1981, he was with Washington State University as Assistant Professor. Since 1981, he has been teaching at IIT, Madras, where he leads the Telecommunications and Computer Networks group (TeNeT). This group works with industry in the development of technologies relevant to India. It has incubated over 35 companies in the last twenty years. He chairs Rural Technology and Business Incubator (RTBI) at IIT Madras and Mobile Payment Forum of India (MPFI).

Dr. Ashok Jhunjhunwala has been awarded Padma Shri in the year 2002. He has been awarded Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in 1998, Dr.Vikram Sarabhai Research Award for the year 1997, Millennium Medal at Indian Science Congress in the year 2000 and H. K. Firodia for "Excellence in Science & Technology" for the year 2002, Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Foundation Award for Science & Technology for the year 2004, Awarded Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Lecture Award by INSA for the year 2006, IBM Innovation and Leadership Forum Award by IBM for the year 2006, awarded Bernard Low Humanitarian Award in 2009, awarded "Bharat Asmita Vigyaan – Tantragyaan Shresththa Award" for the best use of Science & Technology through Innovation in 2010 and awarded Honorary Doctorates by the Institute of Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden in 2008 and University of Maine, USA in 2010. In 2010, he was also awarded JC Bose Fellowship in 2010 by DST, Government of India, awarded Dronacharya (2011) by TiE and recently awarded Top Innovator of Top 11 in 2011 Innovators Challenge. He is a Fellow of World Wireless Research forum, IEEE and Indian academies including INAE, IAS, INSA and NAS.

Dr. Jhunjhunwala is a Director in the Board of TTML, Polaris, 3i Infotech, Sasken, Tejas, Tata Communications and Exicom. He is member of Prime Minister's Scientific Advisory Committee.