Annexure

No.M-12015/6/2006-Edn Planning Commission

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg New Delhi-110 001 Dated 20th April 2006

ORDER

Subject: Formulation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan 2007-12 - Constitution of Steering Committee for Basic Education and Literacy

In the context of the formulation of the Eleventh Five Year Plan 2007-12 for the Education Sector, it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee for Basic Education and Literacy.

- 2. The Composition of the Steering Committee is at Annexure –I.
- 3. The Terms of Reference are as follows:
 - a) To review the current status, formulate the strategy and to identify the priority areas for providing quality basic education up to Class X, including through EGS/AIE centres to all children in the relevant age group.
 - b) To formulate strategies for reducing illiteracy in the country with special focus on the 35+ age group of population.
 - c) To oversee and provide all necessary guidance to the Working Groups/Task Force.
 - d) To work out the financial requirements for various schemes and programmes for providing quality basic education up to Class X including EGS/AIE Centres, ECCE and literacy programmes and outlays for the Eleventh Five Year Plan.
- 4. The expenses towards TA/DA of the official members will be met by the respective Governments/Departments/Institutions to which they belong. TA/DA to non-official members will be paid by the Planning Commission as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India.
- 5. The Chairperson of the Steering Committee, if deemed necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups/Task Force and/or may co-opt additional members.
- 6. The Steering Committee should submit their report within six months.

(Bimla Bajaj)
Under Secretary to the Government of India

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Chairman & Members of the Steering Committee
- 2. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 3. PS to MOS (P&PI)
- 4. PS to all Members of Planning Commission
- 5. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 6. PS to Secretary (Expenditure), Department of Expenditure
- 7. Ministry of Finance (Plan Finance Division)
- 8. PS to Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs
- 9. Pr. Advisers/Sr. Consultants/Advisers/JS (Admn)/Heads of Division
- 10. I.F. Cell, PC Division, Planning Commission
- 11. Admn.I/Accts.I/Genl. I & II Sections, Planning Commission
- 12. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 13. Library, Planning Commission.

List of Members of Steering Committee on Elementary Education and Literacy

- Shri Bhalchandra Mungekar Member (Education), Planning Commission New Delhi
- Shri Champak Chatterjee
 Secretary
 Department of School Education & Literacy
 Ministry of Human Resources Development
 Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
- 3. Secretary,
 Ministry of Woman & Child Development
 Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
- Secretary,
 Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports
 C Wing, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
- Secretary
 Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports
 C Wing, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
- 6. Shri K.M. Acharya
 Additional Secretary
 Deptt. of Secondary & Higher Education
 Ministry of Human Resources Development
- 7. Member Secretary
 National Commission for Minorities
 5th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, Khan Market
 New Delhi-110003
- 8. Member SecretaryNational Commission for Women4, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Marg,New Delhi-110002
- 9 Member Secretary National Commission for Scheduled Castes 5th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, Khan Market, New Delhi-110003

- 10. Member Secretary
 National Commission for Scheduled Tribes
 6th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, Khan Market,
 New Delhi-110003
- 11. Joint Secretary (SSA)
 Department of School Education & Literacy
 Ministry of Human Resources Development
 Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
- 12. Joint Secretary (AE)
 Department of School Education & Literacy
 Ministry of Human Resources Development
 Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
- Joint Secretary (MDM)
 Department of School Education & Literacy
 Ministry of Human Resources Development
 C- Wing, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
- 14. Director General
 National Information Centre
 A-Block, CGO Complex
 Lodhi Road, New Delhi
- 15. Chairman,
 Central Board of Secondary Education
 2, Community Centre,
 Preet Vihar, Delhi-92
- 16. Chairman
 National Council of Teacher Education
 Hans Bhavan, Wing II,
 1, Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg,
 New Delhi
- 17. Chairman,
 National Institute of Open School (NIOS)
 B 31 B Kailash Colony, New Delhi-110048
- 18. Smt. Kumud Bansal,Former Secretary EE&L,7, S Maharishi Karve Marg,Mumbai-21

19. Shri J.M. Abhanyankar, Former SPD (SSA), Maharashtra Flat No. A-14, Building No.13, Haji Ali, Mumbai-34 20. Prof. Govnida, Senior Fellow, NIEPA Sri Aurobindo Marg, New Delhi-110016 21. Prof. Jean Dreze Visiting Professor, Delhi School of Economic, Delhi-110016 22. Ms. Vimala Ramachandran, YA-6, Sah Vikas, 68, IP Extension, Delhi-110092 23. Dr. Radha Herzburger Director, Rishi Valley School P.O. Madanpalli, District Chittoor, Andhra Pradesh 24. Shri. Subhir Sukla 3.108, Kirti Apartments, 16 Mayur Vihar Extension, Delhi-110091 25. Shri. Jacob Taru **CIEFL** A/27/2,DFOCHS, 1st Crescent Road, Sainik Puri, Secundrabad-500094 26. Secretary, Adult Education Govt. of Kerala, Trivandrum 27. Secretary. **School Education** Govt. of Karnataka, Bangalore 28. Secretary. **School Education** Govt. of Gujarat, Gandhi Nagar 29. Secretary.

School Education

Govt. of Chhattisgarh, Raipur

30. Secretary. **School Education** Govt. of Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow 31. Secretary. Education Department, Govt. of Bihar, Patna 32. Secretary, Education Govt. of Haryana, Chandigarh Secretary, Education 33. Govt. of Assam, Dispur Chairperson 34. State Resource Centre (SRC) No.: 20, I Street, Venkataratnam Nagar Extn. Adayar, Chennai- 600020 35. Director, JSS New Transit Camp, Behind New Police Station Dharavi, Mumbai-400017 36. Pr. Adviser/Sr. Consultant (Edn.) **Planning Commission**

Annexure

First Meeting of the Steering Committee on Elementary Education & Literacy

Date: 6.7.2006 Time: 11.00 AM

Members Present:

1. Shri Bhalchandra Mungekar Member (Education)

- Shri Champak Chatterjee
 Secretary
 Department of Elementary Education & Literacy
- 3. Shri SaileshJoint SecretaryMinistry of Youth Affairs & Sports
- 4. Shri S. N. Meena
 Under Secretary
 National Commission for Scheduled Castes
- Ms. Vrinda SwarupJoint Secretary (SSA)Department of Elementary Education & Literacy
- 6. Ms. Vandana Jena
 Joint Secretary (AE & MDMS)
 Department of Elementary Education & Literacy
- 7. Shri R. K. Gupta
 Deputy Director General
 National Informatics Centre
- 8. Acting Chairman,
 National Council of Teacher Education
- 9. Chairman,
 National Institute of Open School (NIOS)
- 10. Prof. Avtar Singh, Head, ES&DP, NCERT

- 11. Prof. Govinda Senior Fellow, NIEPA
- 12. Shri Subir Shukla, 3108, Kirti Apartment
- 13. Shri Jacob Tharu. CIEFL
- 14. Secretary, School Education Govt. of Chhatisgarh
- 15. Secretary,
 Education Department
 Govt. of Bihar
- 16. Secretary,
 Education
 Govt. of Haryana
- 17. Director,
 State Resource Centre
 Government of Tamil Nadu
- 18. Member Secretary NCTE
- 19. Shri P. K. Mohanty
 Deputy Education Adviser
 Department of elementary Education & Literacy
 MHRD.
- 20. Ms. Simmi Chaudhary
 Deputy Secretary
 Department of elementary Education & Literacy
 MHRD.
- 21. Shri K. Ravi Ramchandran
 Deputy Secretary
 Department of elementary Education & Literacy
 MHRD.

Planning Commission:

22. Shri K. L. Datta

Adviser, Education

- 23. Ms. Shakila T. Shamsu Joint Adviser (Education)
- 24. Dr. Shashi Kochar Deputy Adviser (Education)
- 25. Dr. R. P. Singh Senior Research Officer (Education)
- 26. Ms. Renu Sobti Senior Research Officer (Education)
- 27. N. Venkateshwarlu Research Officer (Education)
- 28. Shri B. Ganeshram Economic Officer (Education).