<u>ST2</u>

No. 2(8)/2011- H&FW Government of India

(Planning Commission)
(Health & Family Welfare Division)

Yojana Bhawan Sansad Marg New Delhi

Date:

9th May 2011

Office Memorandum

Subject: Constitution of Steering Committee on AYUSH for

the Twelfth Five-Year Plan (2012-2017)

With a view to formulate the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-2017) for

the Health Sector, it has been decided to constitute a Steering Committee on

AYUSH under the Chairpersonship of Dr. (Ms) Syeda Hameed, Member,

Planning Commission, Government of India.

A copy of the Office Order is enclosed. You are kindly requested to

acknowledge the receipt of the Office Order and send us your contact details,

email id and correspondence address.

(Ambrish Kumar)

Adviser (Health)

Telefax: 23096760

All Members of the Steering Committee.

1

No. 2(8)/2011- H&FW Government of India (Planning Commission) (Health & Family Welfare Division)

Yojana Bhawan Sansad Marg New Delhi

Date: 4th May 2011

OFFICE ORDER

Subject: Constitution of Steering Committee on AYUSH for the Twelfth Five-Year Plan (2012-2017)

With a view to formulate the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-2017) for the Health Sector, it has been decided to constitute a **Steering Committee on AYUSH** under the Chairpersonship of Dr. (Ms) Syeda Hameed, Member, Planning Commission, Government of India.

The composition and Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee is as follows:

1.	Dr. (Ms.) Syeda Hameed, Member, Planning Commission, Govt. of India	Chairperson
2.	Dr. R.A Mashelkar, Member, Scientific Advisory Committee to the PM, CSIR Bhatnagar Fellow & President, Global Research Alliance National Chemical Laboratory, Pune	Co-Chairperson
3.	Secretary, Department of AYUSH, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India	Member
4	Dr. R.H. Singh, Former Vice Chancellor Rajasthan Ayurveda University	Member
5.	Dr. Manoranjan Sahu, Former head of Surgery, BHU, Varanasi	Member
6.	Dr. G.N. Qazi, Vice Chancellor, Jamia Hamdard New Delhi	Member
7.	Director, National Institute of Unani Medicine, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India, Bangalore	Member
8.	Director, National Institute of Siddha, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India, Chennai	Member
9.	Director, National Institute of Homeopathy GE Block, Salt Lake, Kolkata	Member
10.	Dr. B. Srinivas Prasad, Principal KLE Ayurveda Medical college, Belgaum	Member

11.	Dr H.R Nagendra, Vice Chancellor, S-VYASA Yoga University, Bangalore	Member
12.	Director, Bihar School of Yoga, Munger, Bihar	Member
13.	Shri B.S. Sajwan, IFS, Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, Arunachal Pradesh	Member
14.	Dr. Bhushan Patwardhan, Vice Chancellor, Symbiosis University, Pune,	Member
15.	Prof. Rajeev Sangal, Director IIIT, Hyderabad,	Member
16.	Ms. Sudha Gopalkrishnan, Executive Director, SAHAPEDIA, New Delhi	Member
17.	Dr. Meera Sadgopal, Principal investigator Jeeva Project, Nandurbar, Maharashtra	Member
18.	Dr. Ravi Narayan, Community Health Advisor, Society for Community Health Awareness, Research and Action, (SOCHRA), Bangalore	Member
19.	Dr. D.B.A. Narayana, Hon. Chairman Herbal Pharmacopeia Committee, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India	Member
20.	Shri Ranjit Puranik, Former Secretary, Ayurvedic Drug Manufacturing Association (ADMA), Mumbai	Member
21	Principal Secretary, H&FW Government of Gujarat	Member
22	Principal Secretary, H&FW Government of Karnataka	Member
23	Principal Secretary, H&FW, Government of Himachal Pradesh	Member
24.	Principal Secretary, H&FW Government of Maharashtra	Member
25	Prof. Darshan Shankar, Hon. Adviser (ISM) Planning Commission	Member Secretary

Terms of Reference

- 1. The Steering Committee will make recommendations about specific schemes that can develop and modernize the AYUSH sector outlining their scope, objectives, budget outlays, strategies as well as mechanisms for their effective implementation.
- 2. The Steering Committee will focus on the subjects listed in this order. The Committee may, however, identify new subjects that it considers to be of strategic importance for the development of the AYUSH sector.
 - (i) Review of the progress & performance of AYUSH schemes of the 11th Five Year Plan.

- (ii) AYUSH: Non-communicable diseases. (Preventive Health Care & AYUSH especially in reducing Anemia, Malnutrition and Non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, cardio-vascular etc.).
- (iii) AYUSH & Mental Health.
- (iv) Educational reform (UG, PG, Doctoral, and Paramedical)
- (v) Research both clinical and fundamental
- (vi) International Cooperation
- (vii) Medical Manuscripts and Literary research
- (viii) Information Technology in AYUSH
- (ix) AYUSH and Public Health
- (x) Pharmacopeia and Pharmacy Research
- (xi) Medicinal plant conservation, cultivation and repositories
- (xii) AYUSH and NRHM
- (xiii) AYUSH Industry
- (xiv) National Surveys on status of AYUSH
- (xv) Local Health Traditions
- (xvi) Strategy for securing AYUSH Insurance
- (xvii) Special All India Coordinated Initiatives viz; High Impact Projects, Surgery, Ophthalmology, Orthopedics, Acupressure,
- 3. The committee is empowered to appoint sub-committees on specific subjects in order to work out details about specific schemes outlining their scope, objectives, budget outlays, strategies as well as mechanisms for their effective implementation.
- **4.** The Chairperson may constitute various Specialist Groups/Sub-groups/task forces etc. as considered necessary and co-opt other members to the Steering Committee for specific inputs.
- **5.** Steering Committee will keep in focus the Approach paper to the 12th Five Year Plan and monitor able goals, while making recommendations.
- **6.** Efforts must be made to co-opt members from weaker section especially SCs, Scheduled Tribes and minorities working at the field level.
- 7. The expenditure on TA/DA etc. of the official members in connection with the meetings of the Steering Committee will be borne by the respective Government / Department / Institutions to which the member belongs. Non-official Member(s) of the Committee will be entitled to travel by Executive Class by Air India and their expenditure towards TA/DA (as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India) will be paid by the Planning Commission.
- **8.** The Steering Committee would submit its draft report by 30th September, 2011 and final report by 31st October, 2011.

(Shashi Kiran Baijal) Director (Health)

Distribution:

Chairperson & all Members of the Steering Committee

Copy to:

- 1. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 2. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 3. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 5. All Principal Advisers / Sr. Advisers / Advisers / HODs, Planning Commission
- 6. Director (PC), Planning Commission
- 7. Administration (General I) and (General II), Planning Commission
- 8. Accounts I Branch, Planning Commission
- 9. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 10. Library, Planning Commission

(Shashi Kiran Baijal) Director (Health)