Q-20017/1/11-LEM/LP Government of India Planning Commission (Labour, Employment & Manpower Division)

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi- 110001 Dated 07/04/2011.

Order

Subject: <u>Constitution of Steering Committee on Labour, Employment & Skill</u> <u>Development for the 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17).</u>

In the context of preparation of 12th Five Year Plan it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee on Labour, Employment and Skill Development.

The composition of the Steering Committee will be as follows:

Dr. Narendra Jadhav,
 Member,
 Planning Commission,
 New Delhi – 110001.

2. Shri P. C. Chaturvedi, Member Secretary,
Ministry of Labour & Employment Shram Shakti Bhawan,
New Delhi-110001.

3. Shri Ashok Sinha, Member Secretary,
Ministry of Food Processing Industries,
Panchsheel Bhawan,
August Kranti Marg, Khelgaon,
New Delhi-110049.

4. Shri B K Sinha, Member Secretary, D/o Rural Development, Ministry of Rural Development, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi-110001. 5. Shri Navin Kumar, Member Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development Nirman Bhawan, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi-110011. Ms. Rita Menon, 6. Member Secretary, Ministry of Textiles Udyog Bhawan, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi-110011. 7. Dr. C. Chandramouli, Member Registrar General of India, 2A, Man Singh Road, New Delhi-110011. Secretary(Labour), 8. Member Govt. of Tamil Nadu, Secretariat, Fort St. George, Chennai – 600009. 9. Member Pr. Secretary, Labour, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh,

Room No. 810,

Lucknow.

Bapu Bhawan, Sachivalaya,

10.	Pr. Secretary (Labour), Govt. of Bihar, Vikas Bhawan, New Secretariat, Patna – 800003.	Member
11.	Secretary(Labour), (Deptt. of Labour & Employment), Govt. of Maharashtra, Mantralaya, Mumbai.	Member
12.	Pr. Secretary (Labour), Govt. of Madhya Pradesh, Mantralaya, Vallabh Bhavan, Bhopal – 462004.	Member
13.	Secretary(Labour), Govt. of Assam, Assam Secretariat, Dispur – 7810 06.	Member
14.	DG & CEO, NSSO, Ministry of Statistics & Programme Implementation, Sardar Patel Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.	Member
15.	Ms. Mirai Chatterjee, Coordinator, Social Security, SEWA Reception Centre, Opp. Victoria Garden, Bhadra, Ahmedabad – 380001.	Member
16.	Dr. T.S. Papola, Instt. for Studies in Industrial Development, Narendra Niketan, I.P.Estate, P.O. Box No. 7151, New Delhi-110002.	Member

17.	Shri T.S. Vijayan,	Member
	Chairman, LIC,	
	Yogakshema, Central Office,	
	LIC of India,	
	Jeevan Bima Building,	
	Bombay - 400021.	
	-	

18. Shri Manish Sabharwal, CEO, Team Lease 27, 3rd Cross, 18th Main Grape Garden, 6th Block, Koramangla, Bangluru – 5600095. Member

19. Dr. Subhashish Gangopadhyay,
Managing Trustee & Research Director,
India Development Foundation
4101, Near Orchid Square
DLF Phase -IV
Gurgaon 122002, Haryana.

Member

Chairman,University Grants Commission,Bahadur Shah Zafar Mrg,New Delhi-110002.

Member

21. Prof. K.P. Kannan,
Director,
Centre for Development Studies,
Ulloor, Thiruvananthapuram,
Kerala – 695011.

Member

22.	Shri Chandrajeet Banerjee, Director General, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), The Mantosh Sondhi Centre, 23, Institutional Area, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003.	Member
23.	Secretary General, FICCI, Federation House, Tansen Marg, New Delhi-110001.	Member
24.	Ms. Kumud Joshi, Chairperson, KVIC, 3, Irla Road, Vile Parle (West), Mumbai – 400056.	Member
25.	Shri M.N. Chaini, Former President, MEDC. Y.B. Chavan Centre, Mumbai - 400021.	Member
26.	Prof. S.S. Mantha, Vice Chairman & Chairman (Acting), All India Council for Technical Education, 7 th Floor, Chandralok Building, Janpath, New Delhi-110001.	Member
27.	Ms. Uma Ganesan, 6th Floor, Regensis Delta II, Gigaspace, Viman Nagar, Pune 411014.	Member
28.	Dr Som Mittal, President, NASSCOM, International Youth Centre Teen Murti Marg Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110 021	Member

29. Dr. Ajeenkya D. Patil, Member D.Y. Patil Group, D.Y. Patil Building, Opposite MIG Colony, Worli, Mumbai – 400 025.

30. Shri K. Kanagasabapathy,
Director,
Economic & Political Weekly,
Research Foundation,
C-212 Akurli Industrial Estate,
Kandivli East, Mumbai-400 101.

31. Director, Member International Management Institute, B-10, Tara Crescent, Qutub Institutional Area, New Delhi – 110016.

Member

32. Dr. Santosh Mehrotra, Member Director General,
Institute of Applied Manpower Research,
Sector A-7, Institutional Area,
Narela, Delhi-110040.

33. Adviser (LEM) or Representative Convener Planning Commission

- 2. Terms of Reference of Steering Committee on Labour, Employment and Skill Development will be as under:
 - a) To project the labour force and work opportunities that should form the basis for Twelfth Five Year Plan strategy with respect to employment and suggest strategies for creating specific work opportunities.
 - b) To suggest policies and programmes to provide vocational training for all the new entrants to labour force, particularly, the youth in the rural areas.

- c) To review the progress and present status of Skill Development Programme (SDP) and suggest effective measures to achieve the target of 500 million persons to be covered under SDP by 2020.
- d) To review labour laws and regulations and suggest modifications which would help to expand regular wage employment.
- e) To review existing social security measures for organized and unorganized workers, and suggest a strategy for providing social security cover to the unorganized workers, particularly the landless agricultural labour.
- f) To suggest measures for improving occupational safety and health for all the workers.
- g) To review the status of socially deprived and marginalized section of the labour force and suggest ways and means for their assimilation in mainstream of the labour market.
- h) To review the present status and approach to the problem of child labour and to suggest a framework to reduce drastically the incidence of child labour and also ways and means for their mainstreaming into regular school system.
- i) To review the status of bonded labour and suggest ways and means for its proper rehabilitation.
- j) Any other issue(s) concerning labour and employment policy and programme, with the consent of the Chairman of the Steering Committee.
- 3. The Chairman of the Steering Committee may co-opt any other person as member of the Steering Committee if considered necessary.
- 4. The expense towards TA/DA of the official members will be met by respective Govt. Departments /Institutions to which they belong. The TA/DA of non-official members shall be governed by the provisions of SR190(A) as per the entitlement of Group-A officers of the Govt. They shall be permitted to travel to & fro for the meeting by Air (cheapest economy class only by Air India).

5. Smt. Sunita Sanghi, Adviser(LEM), (Tel. 23096541 or 23042259), Room No. 209, / Shri Munish Kumar, Director (LEM), (Tel. 23096506 or 23042592) Room No. 557, Yojana Bhawan, New Delhi, will be the nodal officer for this Steering Committee.

(Jeewan Sharma) Deputy Secretary to the Government of India

To

Chairman and all the Members (incl. Convener) of the Steering Committee.

Copy to:

- 1. PS to DCH/ MOS (Planning)/ Members/Member-Secretary, Planning Commission.
- 2. All Principal Advisers/ Sr. Consultants/ Sr. Advisers/Advisers/ HODs in Planning Commission.
- 3. Prime Minister's Office, South Block, New Delhi.
- 4. Cabinet Secretariat, Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 5. Information Officer, Planning Commission.
- 6. Joint Secretary (Administration), M/o Labour & Employment.
- 7. Director (Finance), Planning Commission.

(Jeewan Sharma) Deputy Secretary to the Government of India
