F.No 12(1)-2011/DP Government of India Planning Commission (Development Policy Division)

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001 Dated: the 18th July, 2011

<u>Order</u>

Subject: Steering Committee on Public Distribution System, Storage of Foodgrains, Warehousing Development/ Regulation and Consumer Protection for the Formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17)

In continuation of Planning Commission's earlier Orders of Even No. dated 27th April, and 16th June 2011 in the context of the formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan, it has been decided to further expand the scope of the Steering Committee on the Public Distribution System, Storage of Foodgrains and Consumer Protection, by making following modifications:

- 1) Changing the name of the Steering Committee from "Steering Committee on Public Distribution System, Storage of Foodgrains and Consumer Protection" to "Steering Committee on Public Distribution System, Storage of Foodgrains, Warehousing Development/ Regulation and Consumer Protection for the Formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17)".
- 2) Inclusion of Chairman (Warehousing Development and Regulatory Authority) as a Member.
- 3) Modifying the terms of reference by including the issues pertaining to Warehousing Development/ Regulation.

Accordingly, the revised composition of the **Steering Committee** is as under:-

- 1. Dr. Saumitra Chaudhuri, Member, Planning Commission Chairman
- 2. Shri T Nanda Kumar, Member, National Disaster Management Authority
- 3. Dr. Kaushik Basu, Chief Economic Adviser, DEA, Ministry of Finance
- 4. Chairman, Warehousing Development and Regulatory Authority
- 5. Secretary, Department of Food and Public Distribution
- 6. Secretary, Department of Agriculture & Cooperation
- 7. Secretary, Department of Consumer Affairs
- 8. Dr. Ashok Gulati, Chairman, CACP
- 9. Chairman, Food Corporation of India
- 10. Dr. S M Jharwal, former Chairman NPPA and Pr Adv, DAC
- 11. Shri Surinder Singh, Adviser (Agriculture), Planning Commission
- 12. Shri Ravi Mital, Adviser (Infrastructure), Planning Commission
- 13. Shri Ramesh Chand, Director, NCAP
- 14. Secretary (Food), Government of Bihar
- 15. Secretary (Food), Government of Assam
- 16. Secretary (Food), Government of Andhra Pradesh
- 17. Secretary (Food), Government of Chhattisgarh
- 18. Dr. Ashok Sahu, Principal Adviser (DPPP), Planning Commission Member Secretary

Terms of Reference:

- 1. To assess the demand and supply of foodgrains during the 12th Plan period, inter alia keeping in view the proposed National Food Security Bill.
- 2. To examine the procurement policies with regard to foodgrains and suggest measures relating thereto.
- 3. To review the performance of the Targeted Public Distribution System and suggest measures for reforms in the TPDS.
- 4. To assess and make suggestions for improving the storage capacity of foodgrains for the 12th Plan period with special emphasis on the North Eastern Region.
- 5. To suggest measures for rationalizing and better targeting of food subsidies.
- 6. To assess the coverage of commodities supplied under TPDS keeping in view the nutritional concerns and the need for providing essential items to public at affordable prices.
- 7. To review the existing framework and recommend a comprehensive set of policies, programmes and action plan in pursuit of a strong movement for consumer protection covering, inter alia, consumer rights to awareness, education, redressal of grievances and quality infrastructure, standardisation & product safety.
- 8. To identify specific areas requiring Government intervention and to suggest ways and means to enhance responsiveness of private sector to consumers.
- 9. To suggest the approach towards orderly growth of the warehousing business and regulation thereof during the Twelfth Plan period.
- 10. To suggest development of an integrated post-harvest management system including concept of Negotiable Warehousing Receipts and financing thereof.

The Chairman of the Steering Committee may constitute Working Group (s)/ Subgroups/ Task forces etc. and/or co-opt additional members as may be considered necessary.

The expenses towards TA/DA of the official members in connection with the meetings of the Steering Committee will be borne by their respective Ministry/ Department. Non-official members of the Steering Committee would be permitted to travel by executive class by Air India, and the expenditure towards their TA/DA, as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India, would be met by the Planning Commission.

The Steering Committee shall submit its report by September 30, 2011.

(Dr. Yogesh Suri) Adviser (Development Policy) Tel. 23096610

To,

The Chairman & Members of the Steering Committee. Copy also to:

- 1. P.S. to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 2. P.S. to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 3. Director (PC), Planning Commission
- 4. Administration (General-I) and (General-II), Planning Commission
- 5. Accounts-I Branch, Planning Commission
- 6. IFA Unit, Planning Commission
- 7. Information Officer, Planning Commission.

(Dr. Yogesh Suri) Adviser (Development Policy)