No.M-12015/1/2011-HRD Planning Commission

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001 Dated: 8th April, 2011

ORDER

Subject: Formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17) – Constitution of Steering Committee for Elementary Education and Literacy – regarding.

In the context of the formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17) for the Education Sector, it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee for Elementary Education and Literacy.

- The Composition of the Steering Committee is at Annexure I
- The Terms of Reference are as follows:
 - a) To review the current status, formulate the strategy and identify the priority areas for providing quality basic education, harmonizing RTE Act mandate with SSA to ensure improved access with quality to all children in the relevant age group with special focus on disadvantaged groups including tribal and minority children.
 - b) To review the current status, formulate the strategy for effective delivery of MDMS with accountable and transparent delivery mechanism at State and sub-state levels.
 - c) To formulate strategies for reducing illiteracy in the country with special focus on women and regions lagging in literacy.
 - d) To oversee and provide all necessary guidance to the Working Groups/Task Force.
 - e) To work out the financial requirements for various schemes and programmes for providing quality elementary education up to Class VIII including literacy programmes and outlays for the Twelfth Five Year Plan and to set monitorable outcomes for the Plan
 - 4. The expenses towards TA/DA of the official members will be met by the respective Governments/Departments/Institutions to which they belong. Non-official members will be entitled to travel only by Executive Class of Air India and their expenditure towards TA/DA (as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India) will be paid by the Planning Commission.
 - 5. The Chairperson of the Steering Committee, if deemed necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups/ Taskforce and/or may co-opt additional members.
 - 6. The Steering Committee will submit its report by 30th November 2011.

(Shakila T. Shamsu) Joint Adviser (HRD) Telefax: 23096766 shakilat.shamsu@nic.in

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Chairman & Members of the Steering Committee.
- 2. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 3. PS to MOS (P&PI)
- 4. PS to All Members of Planning Commission
- 5. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 6. PS to Secretary(Expenditure), Department of Expenditure
- 7. Ministry of Finance (Plan Finance Division)
- 8. PS to Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs
- 9. Pr. Advisers/Sr.Consultants /Advisers/JS(Admn)/Heads of Division
- 10. I.F Cell, PC Division, Planning Commission
- 11. Admn. I/Accts.I/Genl I & II Sections, Planning Commission
- 12. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 13. Library, Planning Commission

(Shakila T. Shamsu)
Joint Adviser (HRD)

List of Members of Steering Committee on Elementary Education and Literacy

1. Dr. Narendra Jadhav, Member, Planning Commission

- Chairman

2. Smt. Anshu Vaish,

Member

Secretary.

Dept .of School Education & Literacy, MHRD

Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi

3. Secretary,

Member

Department of Sports,

M/o YAS,

Shastri Bhawan,

New Delhi

4. Secretary,

Member

Department of Youth Affairs,

M/o YAS.

Shastri Bhawan

New Delhi

5. Secretary,

Member

M/o Women and Child Development,

Shastri Bhawan,

New Delhi

6. Secretary,

M/o PRI,

Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi

Member

7. Ms. Shantha Sinha,

Chairperson, NCPCR,

5th Floor, Chanderlok Building,

36-Janpath,

New Delhi-110 001

Member

8. Shri Madhav Chavan,

President,

Pratham

101, Royal Crest,

Lokmanyaw Basant Road-3,

Dadar, Mumbai- 400014.

Member

Member 9. Ms. Sudha Murthy, Infosys Technology Limited, Registered Office Electronic City, Hosur Road. Bengaluru-561 229 Member 10. Prof. Muchkund Dubey, President. Council for Social Development, Sangha Rachna, 53. Lodhi Estate. New Delhi- 110 003 11. Shri Bhai Vaidya Member President, Samjvadi Adhyapak Sabha Torana Manmohan Parshwanath society, Bibwewadi, Pune-411037 Member 12. Prof. Anita Ramphal, (Adult Education Department) Delhi University, Delhi 13. Prof. Parvin Sinclair, Member Pro-Vice-Chancellor, IGNOU. New Delhi Member 14 Shri M. Thompson, Director, Mercedes-Benz International School, P-26 MIDC PHASE-1, Rajeev Gandhi Infotech Park, Hinjiwadi, Pune- 411 057 Member 15 Shri Heramb Kulkarni, Educationist. Post: Akole, Block- Akole, Distt: Ahmednagar- 422 601 Maharashtra Member 16 Prof. Akhtarul Wasey, Director, Zakir Hussain Institute of Islamic Studies, JMI. New Delhi

17 Dr. Eugene D. Thomas, Member Director, State Resource Centre. NEHU, Shillong, Meghalaya Member 18 Mrs. Abha Sahgal, Principal, Sanskriti School, S Radhakrishna Marg, Chanakyapuri New Delhi- 110 021 19 Member Secretary Member National Commission for Minorities. 5th Floor, Lok Navak Bhavan, New Delhi- 110003 20 Member Secretary Member National Commission for Backward Classes, 5th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, New Delhi- 110003 Member Member Secretary, 21 National Commission for Women, 4, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Marg, New Delhi-110002 22 Member Secretary Member National Commission for Scheduled Castes. 5th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, New Delhi- 110 003 Member 23 Member Secretary National Commission for Scheduled Tribes 6th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, New Delhi- 110 003 Member 24 Chairman, National Council of Teacher Education, 1, Hans Bhawan, Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi- 110 002 Member Dr.Sitansu S. Jena Chairman, National Institute of Open School (NIOS) M.H.R.D. Govt of India, A-24-25, Institutional Area, NH-24.

Sector-62, Noida

26 Prof.G. Ravindra, Member (I/c), Director, NCERT. Shri Aurobindo Marg, New Delhi- 110 016 27 Ms. Anita Kaul, Member Addl. Secretary (SSA) DoSEL, MHRĎ Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi 28 Shri Jagmohan Singh Raju, Member Joint Secretary, DoSEL, MHRD, Shastri Bhawan. New Delhi 29 Dr. Amarjit Singh, Member Joint Secretary, DoSEL, MHRD Shastri Bhawan. New Delhi Shri Amitabha Bhattacharya Former Pr. Adviser (Edn.), Member **Planning Commission** 31 Shri K.P Singh

31 Shri K.P Singh
Deputy Adviser (HRD-SE)
Planning Commission

Member

32 Dr. C.Chandramohan Adviser (School Education & Sports), Planning Commission

Member-Convener