# No.M-12015/1/2011-HRD Planning Commission

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001 Dated: 8<sup>th</sup> April, 2011

#### ORDER

Subject: Formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17) – Constitution of Steering Committee for Higher and Technical Education – regarding.

In the context of the formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17) for the Education sector, it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee on Higher and Technical Education.

- The Composition of the Steering Committee is at Annexure I
- 3. The Terms of Reference are as follows:-
  - (a) To formulate broad objectives and identify thrust areas in the higher and technical education sectors for the Twelfth Five Year Plan.
  - (b) To enhance access with substantial additional intake capacity in higher, technical and professional education aligned to skills needs of the economy.
  - c) To provide all necessary guidance to the Working Groups
  - d) To work out financial requirements of Higher and Technical Education and suggest outlays based on Working Groups recommendations and to set monitorable outcomes for the Plan.
  - e) To work out an operational strategy for implementation of the recommendations of the Working Groups/Task Force/Committees of MHRD and to suggest changes, if any.
- 4. The expenses towards TA/DA of the official members will be met by the respective Governments/Departments/Institutions to which they belong. Non-official members will be entitled to travel only by Executive Class of Air India and their expenditure towards TA/DA ( as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India ) will be paid by the Planning Commission.
- 5. The Chairperson of the Steering Committee, if deemed necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups/ Taskforce and/or may co-opt additional members.
- 6. The Steering Committee will submit its report by 30<sup>th</sup> November 2011.

(Shakila T. Shamsu) Joint Adviser (HRD) Telefax: 23096766 shakilat.shamsu@nic.in

#### **Copy forwarded to:**

- 1. Chairman & Members of the Steering Committee.
- 2. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 3. PS to MOS (P&PI)
- 4. PS to All Members of Planning Commission

- 5. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 6. PS to Secretary(Expenditure), Department of Expenditure
- 7. Ministry of Finance (Plan Finance Division)
- 8. PS to Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs
- 9. Pr. Advisers/Sr.Consultants /Advisers/JS(Admn)/Heads of Division
- 10. I.F Cell, PC Division, Planning Commission
- 11. Admn. I/Accts.I/Genl I & II Sections, Planning Commission
- 12. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 13. Library, Planning Commission

( Shakila T. Shamsu) Joint Adviser (HRD)

### **Annexure I**

## List of Members of Steering Committee on Higher and Technical Education

| 1. | Dr. Narendra Jadhav,<br>Member, Planning Commission   | - Chairman      |
|----|---|-----------------|
| 2. | Smt. Vibha Puri Das,<br>Secretary,<br>Dept .of Higher Education<br>MHRD, Shastri Bhavan,<br>New Delhi | Member          |
| 3. | Prof. C. N. R. Rao,<br>Chairman,<br>Scientific Advisory Council to PM                                 | Special Invitee |
| 4. | Prof.N.R. Madhav Menon<br>Former Director, NLSIU, Bangalore   | Special Invitee |
| 5. | Dr. R .A. Mashelkar,<br>Global Research Alliance  | Special Invitee |
| 6  | Shri Pratap Bhanu Mehta,<br>President & Chief Executive<br>Centre for Policy Research                 | Special Invitee |
| 7. | Shri S. Ramadorai,<br>CEO and MD,<br>Tata Consultancy Services  | Special Invitee |
| 8. | Shri Azim Premji,<br>Chairman, Wipro  | Special Invitee |
| 9. | Dr. M. Anandakrishnan,<br>Chairman,<br>IIT Kanpur   | Special Invitee |
| 10 | .Prof. Ramchandra Guha,<br>Historian  | Special Invitee |
| 11 | Shri Harish Mariwala<br>President,<br>FICCI,  | Special Invitee |
|    | .Shri Hari S Bhartia<br>President,<br>CII   | Special Invitee |

13. Shri Som Mittal, Special Invitee President, NASSCOM 14. Shri Narayana Murthy, Special Invitee Chairman, Infosys 15. Dr. Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, Special Invitee Biocon Group 16. Prof.O.N.V.Kurup, Special Invitee Jnanpith Awardee, Littérateur 17. Shri J.J.Irani, Special Invitee Tata Group 18. Dr. Saiyid Hamid, Special Invitee former Chancellor, Jamia Hamdard group 19. Dr. Govardhan Mehta Former Chairman, NAAC Special Invitee 20. Prof. Mrinal Miri Special Invitee Chairman ,Board of Governors Centre for the Study of Developing Societies A-39, South Extension – I New Delhi - 110049 21. Prof. U. R. Ananthamurthy, Special Invitee Jnanpith Awardee 22. P. Balaram, Special Invitee Director, IISc, Bangalore 23. Kris Gopalakrishnan, Special Invitee CEO, Infosys 24. Mr. Rajender Pawar, Special Invitee Chairman NIIT 25. Dr. S. B. Nimse Member Vice- Chancellor Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University Vishnupuri, Nanded - 431 606

| 26. Prof. H.A. Ranganath<br>Chairman, NAAC                                      | Member |
|---|--------|
| 27. Prof. Samir K. Brahmachari<br>DG, CSIR, New Delhi                           | Member |
| 28. Prof. Dipankar Gupta, Former Professor of Sociology JNU, New Delhi          | Member |
| 29. Prof. Dinesh Singh, Vice-Chancellor Univ. of Delhi                          | Member |
| 30. Prof. Sudhir Kumar Sopory<br>Vice-Chancellor,<br>JNU,                       | Member |
| 31. Prof. V.N. Rajashekharan Pillai,<br>Vice-Chancellor<br>IGNOU                | Member |
| 32. Prof. K.N. Panikkar, Vice Chairman, Kerala State Higher Educational Council | Member |
| 33. Prof. R. Govinda,<br>Vice-Chancellor,<br>NUEPA                              | Member |
| 34. Prof. Ved Prakash, Acting Chairman, UGC                                     | Member |
| 35. Shri S.S.Mantha<br>Chairman (I/c)<br>AICTE                                  | Member |
| 36. Shri G. Prabhakar, President, Institution of Engineers(India), Hyderabad    | Member |
| 37. Dr.S. Parasuraman, Director, TISS, Mumbai                                   | Member |
| 38. Prof. (Dr.) R.K.Shevgaonkar,<br>VC, University of Pune                      | Member |

| <ol> <li>Dr. Dilip Ranjekar,<br/>CEO,Azim Premji Foundation,<br/>Bangalore</li> </ol>  | Member |
|--|--------|
| 40. Prof. Abhay Pethe,<br>University of Mumbai   | Member |
| 41.Prof. Syed E. Hasnain,<br>VC, Hyderabad University,<br>Andhra Pradesh   | Member |
| 42. Dr. Bhushan Patwardhan Vice-Chancellor, Symbiosis International University, Pune   | Member |
| 43. Prof. Gopa Sabarwal,<br>Vice-Chancellor,<br>Nalanda University   | Member |
| 44. Prof. Pankaj Chandra,<br>Director,<br>IIM Bangalore  | Member |
| 45.Dr. Gajanan Ekbote<br>Pune  | Member |
| 46. Dr. Binod Khadria<br>Chairperson,<br>Zakir Husain Centre, JNU  | Member |
| 47. Prof.Dr.P.D.Patil, Chancellor, D.Y.Patil University,Pune   | Member |
| 48. Dr. Samuel Paul, Chairman, Public Affairs Centre, Bangalore  | Member |
| 49. Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala<br>IIT Madras   | Member |
| 50. Dr. T. R. Kem Director Consortium For Educational Communication IUAC (NSC) Campus, Aruna Asaf Ali Marg New Delhi-110 067 | Member |

51. Member-Secretary, Member National Backward Classes Commission 52. Dr. Frazer Mascarenhas, S.J. Member Chairperson, Xavier College, Mumbai 53. Dr. J.P. Singh, Member Member-Secretary, Rehabilitation Council of India 54. Dr. Amitabha Ghosh, Member former Director, IIT, Kharagpur 55. Ms. Shakila T.Shamsu Member Joint Adviser (HRD) Planning Commission 56. Shri Amitabha Bhattacharya Former Pr. Adviser (Education), Member Planning Commission 57. Shri Pawan Kumar Agarwal **Adviser (Higher Education) Member-Convener Planning Commission**