No.M-12015/1/2011-HRD Planning Commission

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001 Dated: 8th April, 2011

ORDER

Subject: Formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17) – Constitution of Steering Committee for Secondary and Vocational Education – regarding.

In the context of the formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17) for the Education sector, it has been decided to set up a Steering Committee on Secondary and Vocational Education.

- 2. The Composition of the Steering Committee is at Annexure I
- 3. The Terms of Reference are as follows:
 - a) To review the current status, formulate the strategy and to identify the priority areas for providing quality basic education, enhancing access to and improving quality of secondary and vocational education.
 - b) To oversee and provide all necessary guidance to the Working Groups/Task Force.
 - c) To work out the financial requirements for various schemes and programmes for providing quality basic education up to Class X and further up to Class XII, and outlays for the Twelfth Five Year Plan.
- 4. The expenses towards TA/DA of the official members will be met by the respective Governments/Departments/Institutions to which they belong. Non-official members will be entitled to travel only by Executive Class of Air India and their expenditure towards TA/DA (as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India) will be paid by the Planning Commission.
- 5. The Chairperson of the Steering Committee, if deemed necessary, may constitute Sub-Groups/ Taskforce and/or may co-opt additional members.
- 6. The Steering Committee will submit its report by 30th November 2011.

(Shakila T. Shamsu) Joint Adviser (HRD) Telefax: 23096766 shakilat.shamsu@nic.in

Copy forwarded to:

- 1. Chairman & Members of the Steering Committee.
- 2. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 3. PS to MOS (P&PI)
- 4. PS to All Members of Planning Commission

- 5. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 6. PS to Secretary(Expenditure), Department of Expenditure
- 7. Ministry of Finance (Plan Finance Division)
- 8. PS to Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs
- 9. Pr. Advisers/Sr.Consultants /Advisers/JS(Admn)/Heads of Division
- 10. I.F Cell, PC Division, Planning Commission
- 11. Admn. I/Accts.I/Genl I & II Sections, Planning Commission
- 12. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 13. Library, Planning Commission

(Shakila T. Shamsu) Joint Adviser (HRD)

Annexure I

List of Members of Steering Committee on Secondary and Vocational Education

1.	Dr. Narendra Jadhav, Member, Planning Commission-	Chairman
2.	Smt. Anshu Vaish, Secretary, Dept.of School Education & Literacy MHRD	Member
3.	Secretary, Ministry of Labour, GOI	Member
4.	Secretary, M/o Textiles and Industry, GOI	Member
5.	Shri Sharada Prasad, DGET,M/o Labour	Member
6.	Prof.Krishna Kumar, Former Director, NCERT	Member
7.	Father T.V. Kunnakkal, St. Xavier's Institute of Education, Mumbai	Member
8.	Ms. Rohini Nilekani Chairperson ,Arghyam #599, 12th Main, HAL 2nd Stage, Indiranagar, BANGALORE- 560008	Member
9.	Sister Cyril, Principal, Loretto School, Kolkata	Member
10	Shri M. Thompson, Director, Mercedes-Benz International School, Pune	Member
11	. Shri Ramesh Gajanan Joshi, Gen.Secretary, BMMSS Mumbai	Member

12. Smt. Achala Joshi Member Indian Education Society, Raja Shivaji Vidya Sankul, Hindu Colony, Dadar, Mumbai 4000104. 13. T. V. Narayanan, Member In-charge Principal Father Agnel Technical College, Bandra(W), Mumbai- 400050 14. Shri Shantilal Mutha, President, Member BJS, Pune. 15. Member Secretary, National Commission for Minorities, Member New Delhi 16. Member Secretary, National Commission for Women, Member New Delhi 17. Member Secretary National Commission for Scheduled Castes. Member New Delhi 18. Member Secretary National Commission for Scheduled Tribes Member 19. Jacob Tharu, (Retd). Centre for Evaluation, CIEFL Member 20. Shri Som Mittal, Chairman. Member NASSCOM 21. Mr. Dilip H. M. Chenoy, MD& CEO, Member National Skill Development Corporation 22. Principal, St.Xavier's Technical Institute, Member Mahim, Mumbai 23. Director, PSSCIVE, NCERT, 131, Zone II, Member

24.	Smt. K.Renuka Raju Member, Executive Committee of NLM & Chief Mentor, Education Management Alliance, 57, Nagarjuna Hills, Hyderabad 500082	Member
25.	Prof. Hari Desai, Charuthar Vidya Mandir I.B. Patel English School Vallabh Vidyanagar - 388120 Gujarat - India	Member
26.	Director, BOAT (Western Region), New Administration Building IInd Floor, ATI Campus, Sion-Trombay Road, MUMBAI	Member
27.	Director, BOAT (Southern Region), CIT Campus, Taramani, CHENNAI - 600 013	Member
28.	Director, BOAT (Eastern Region) Block EA,Sector I, Opp. Laboni Estate, CALCUTTA - 700 064	Member
29.	Director BOAT (Northern Region) 117-L/440, Kakadeo, KANPUR - 208 025	Member
30.	Shri Vineet Joshi, Chairman, Central Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi	Member
31.	Chairman, National Council of Teacher Education, New Delhi	Member
32.	Chairman, National Institute of Open School (NIOS) New Delhi	Member
33.	Prof.G. Ravindra (I/c), Director, NCERT	Member
34.	Shri Avinash Dikshit, Commissioner, KVS	Member

35. Shri Manoj Singh, Commissioner, Member NVS 36. Ms. Anita Kaul, Addl. Secretary DoSEL, Member MHRD 37. Dr S.C.Khuntia, Joint Secretary, Member DoSEL, MHRD 38. Shri Jagmohan Singh Raju, JS, DoSEL, Member MHRD 39. Dr. Amarjit Singh, JS, DoSEL, Member MHRD 40. Shri K.P.Singh, Member Deputy Adviser,(HRD) **Planning Commission** 41. Shri Amitabha Bhattacharya Former Pr. Adviser(Edn.), Planning Commission Member 42. Dr. C. Chandramohan Adviser (Education & Sports) **Planning Commission Member- Convener**