#### Annexure-I

#### No. 12074/1-2(4)/2005-E&F Government of India Planning Commission (Environment & Forests Division)

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi, the 22<sup>nd</sup> August, 2005.

#### <u>ORDER</u>

# Subject: - Constitution of a Task Force for formulating Action Plan for removal of Arsenic contamination in West Bengal.

Life and sustenance of about 87 lakh people in West Bengal are severely affected by Arsenic contamination in ground water. In order to address the problem, it has been decided to constitute a Task Force under the Chairmanship of **Dr. V.L. Chopra, Member, Planning Commission.** 

The Composition of the Task Force is as under:

1.	Dr. V.L. Chopra, Member (E&F) Planning Commission Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110 001.	Chairman
2.	Dr. Prodipto Ghosh, Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forests, Paryavaran Bhawan, CGO Complex, New Delhi-110 003.	Member
3.	Dr. V. Rajagopalan, Chairman, Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB), Parivesh Bhavan, East Arjun Nagar, Shahdara, Delhi-110 032.	Member
4.	Principal Secretary (Public Health & Engg.), Government of West Bengal, Writer's Building, Kolkata-700 001.	Member
5.	Chairman, West Bengal Pollution Control Board, 10-A, Block LA, Sector-Ill, Salt Lake City Kolkata - 700 098.	Member
6.	Dr. S.N. Prasad, Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Hauz Khas, New Delhi-110016.	Member

7.	Prof. Dipankar Chakraborty, Head, Department of Environmental Sciences, Jadavpur University, Kolkata - 700 012.	Member
8.	Dr. (Prof.) Varshney, Director, 88, Vaishali, Pitampura, New Delhi- 110 034.	Member
9.	Dr. P.H. Ananthanarayanan, All India Institute ot Hygiene & Public Health, Chittaranjan Avenue, Kolkata-700072.	Member
10.	Mrs. Adarsh Misra Pr.Adviser, Planning Commission, New Delhi-110001.	Member
11.	Shri Chandra Pal, Adviser (State Plans - East) Planning Commission, New Delhi-110001.	Member
12.	Dr. Dilip Biswas, (Former Chairman, CPCB) 40/14, Chittaranjan Park, New Delhi-110019.	Member
13.	Dr. K.M. Paknikar Agharkar Research Institute Gopal Ganesh Agarkar Road, Pune-411004 (Maharashtra)	Member
14.	Dr. R. Mandal, Adviser (E & F), Room No. 215, Planning Commission, New Delhi-110 001.	Member-Secretary

### 3. **Terms of Reference of the Task Force are:**

- i) Formulation of an Action Plan for removing Arsenic contamination from the ground water of West Bengal,
- ii) Examine available technologies and recommend right methodology,
- iii) Recommend the time schedule and Road Map for implementation
- iv) Recommend measures for O & M of the assets,
- v) Recommend mechanism to monitor and evaluate the programme.

4. The Task Force may co-opt other Members and constitute Sub-Groups on specific themes.

5. The Task Force would submit its report within six months from the date of this Order. Payment of TA/DA for the non-official members of the Task Force would be borne by the Planning Commission as per rules.

(K.K. CHHABRA)

Under Secretary to the Govt, of India

То

Chairman, Members and Member-Secretary of the Task Force.

Copy to:

- 1. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.
- 2. PS to MOS (Planning)
- 3. PSs to Members, Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 5. PS to Pr. Adviser (E & F), Planning Commission
- 6. PS to Adviser (E & F), Planning Commission

### (K.K. CHHABRA)

Under Secretary to the Govt, of India

Note: 2 Members (Dr. A.K. Keshari, Associate Professor, Deptt. Of Civil Engineering, IIT Delhi and Dr. Atanu Sarkar , Scientist, Centre for Science & Environment, New Delhi) were co-opted later. Dr. S. Natesh, Sr. Adviser, Dept. of Biotechnology, GOI, New Delhi and Dr. Santanu Bhattacharjee, Scientist, National Metallurgical Laboratories, Jamshedpur were Special Invitees for the 1<sup>st</sup> Meeting of the Task Force held on 13.9.2005.

#### Annexure I (A)

#### No. 12074/1-2(4)/2005-E&F Government of India Planning Commission (Environment & Forests Division)

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg,

New Delhi, 30<sup>th</sup> March 2007.

#### <u>ORDER</u>

# Subject: - Revival of the Task Force for formulating Action Plan for removal of Arsenic contamination in West Bengal.

With reference to Planning Commission Order of even No. dated  $22^{nd}$  August 2005, it has been decided to revive the said Task Force with tenure of **2 months**. While the Terms of Reference will remain unchanged, the composition will be as under:

1.	Dr. V.L. Chopra, Member (E&F) Planning Commission Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110 001.	Chairman
2.	Dr. Prodipto Ghosh, Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forests, Paryavaran Bhawan, CGO Complex, New Delhi-3.	Member
3.	Chairman, Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB), Parivesh Bhavan, East Arjun Nagar, Shahdara, Delhi-110 032.	Member
4.	Principal Secretary (Public Health & Engg.), Government of West Bengal, Writer's Building, Kolkata-700 001.	Member
5.	Chairman, West Bengal Pollution Control Board, 10-A, Block LA, Sector-Ill, Salt Lake City Kolkata - 700 098.	Member
6.	Dr. A.K. Keshari, Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Hauz Khas, New Delhi-110016.	Member

2. The Composition of the Task Force is as under:

7.	Prof. Dipankar Chakraborty, Head, Department of Environmental Sciences, Jadavpur University, Kolkata - 700 012.	Member
8.	Director, All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health Chittaranjan Avenue Kokata – 700 072	Member
9.	Dr. Santanu Bhattacharjee, Scientist, National Metallurgical Laboratories, Jamshedpur	
10.	Shri Ajay Shankar. Pr.Adviser (E & F), Planning Commission, New Delhi-110001.	
11.	Dr. Dilip Biswas, (Former Chairman, CPCB) 40/14, Chittaranjan Park, New Delhi-110019.	Member
12.	Dr. K.M. Paknikar Agharkar Research Institute Gopal Ganesh Agarkar Road, Pune-411004 (Maharashtra)	Member
13.	Shri P.N. Asari, Adviser (E & F), Room No. 223, Planning Commission, New Delhi-110 001.	Member-Secretary

## 3. **Terms of Reference of the Task Force are:**

- i) Formulation of an Action Plan for removing Arsenic contamination from groundwater of West Bengal,
- vi) Examine available technologies and recommend right methodology,
- vii) Recommend the time schedule and Road Map for implementation
- viii) Recommend measures for O & M of the assets,
- ix) Recommend mechanism to monitor and evaluate the programme.

6. The Task Force would submit its report within 2 months from the date of issue of this Order. Payment of TA/DA for the non-official members of the Task Force would be borne by the Planning Commission as per rules.

(Anil Malhotra) Deputy Secretary to the Govt, of India

То

Chairman, Members and Member-Secretary of the Task Force.

#### Copy to:

- 7. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission.
- 8. PS to MOS (Planning)
- 9. PSs to Members, Planning Commission
- 10. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 11. PS to Pr. Adviser (E & F), Planning Commission
- 12. PPS to Adviser (E & F), Planning Commission

(Anil Malhotra) Deputy Secretary to the Govt, of India

#### **Co-opted Members**

- Smt. Shanta Sheela Nair, Secretary, Shri R. M. Deshpande, Additional Adviser, and Shri Kamal Mazumdar, Deputy Adviser, Department of Drinking Water Supply, Ministry of Rural Development had kindly consented in September 2006 to join the Task Force as Special Invitees and had attended meetings of the Task Force and also visited Kolkata in March, 2007 with Planning Commission Officers for discussions with State Govt. Officials and field visits to affected areas.
- 2. Planning Commission Officers wish to place on record their gratitude to Smt. Nair and her colleagues for the valuable guidance, encouragement and support to the Commission without which the report could not have been finalised so expeditiously.