F.No.M-12043/2/20011-Agri PLANNING COMMISSION (AGRICULTURE DIVISION) GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

Yojana Bhawan, Sansad Marg New Delhi-110001 Dated : February 03, 2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: Constitution of the Working Group on "Horticulture & Plantation Crops" for the Twelth Five Year Plan (2012-17)

It has been decided, with the approval of competent authority to constitute Working Group on the subject cited above, with the following Composition and Terms of Reference.

1. **Composition**

1	Prof D.P. Ray, Vice-Chancellor, Orissa University of	Chairman
	Agriculture & Technology, Bhubneshwar, 751003	
	Phone: 0674-2397700, Fax.2397780	
	Email:outmain@hotmail.com	
2.	Dr. H.P. Singh, Dy. Director General (Horticulture)	Member
	Krishi Anusandhan Bhawan-II New Delhi-1101012	
	Email: <u>hpsingh@icar.org.in</u>	
3.	Shri Sanjeev Chopra,	Member
	Joint Secretary & Mission Director,	
	National Horticulture Mission(NHM)	
	Department of Agriculture & Cooperation,	
	Krishi Bhawan,	
	New Delhi -110001	
	Email: chopra.sanjeev@nic.in	
4.	Dr. Gorakh Singh,	Member
	Horticulture Commissioner	
	DAC. Krishi Bhanwan,	
	New Delhi-110001	
5	Dr T.A. More, Vice Chancellor	Member
	Mahatmaphule Krishi Vidya Peeth Member	
	Rahuri-413722	
	Fax: 91(0)24643302	
	E-mail. kvmp@ren.nic.in	

6.	Dr S.D. Shikhamany,	Member
0.	Vice-Chancellor,	Weineer
	Andhra Horticulture University,	
	DCC Bank Building,	
	Tadepalligudem, Post Box-7, West Dodawari.	
	Phone-8818-222191, Fax 222190	
7.	Dr R.K. Dhiman, Vice Chancellors,	Member
' •	Dr. Y.S. Parmar Unvieristy of Horticulture & Forestry,	1,76,116,61
	Solan, Nauni, HP	
	Phone. 01792 (252363 (O), M-9418203800	
	252242 ®	
8.	Shri Chandrika Prasad Tiwari	Member
	Mission Director	
	Directorate of Horticulture, Department of Horticulture	
	& Fruit Processing, Govt. of UP, Udyan Bhawan-2	
	Sapru Marg, Lucknow-226001	
9.	Dr Pijush Kanti Parmanik, Director (Horticulture),	Member
	Government of West Bengal, Department of Food	
	Processing, Industries, Mayukh Bhawan, Salt Lake,	
	Kolkata-700001	
10.	Shri A.L. Meena, Joint Secretary, Food Processing	Member
	Industrires, Panchsheel Bhawan, Newlhi	
11.	Secretary, APMC	Member
	Office Complex, MNI Azadpur,	
	NFM Ph II, Sarai Pipal Thala,	
	Delhi-110033. Phone: 27691748 Fax.27691799	
12.	Shri Mir Chand,	Member
	Confederation of India Industry	
	CII Headquarters	
	Manthosh Sondhi Centre	
	23 Institutional Area Lodi Road, New Delhi	
13.	Director, Central Plantation Crops Research Institute,	Member
	Kasaragod-671 124 Kerala	
14.	Director,	Member
	Indian Institute of Spices Research	
	Marikunna PO	
	Calicut, Kerala-673012	
15.	Chief Executive Officer, SAFAL	Member
	F-89/11, 1 st Floor,	
	Okhla Phase-1	
	New Delhi – 1100200	
	Phone. +91 11 40665555 Fax 40665503	
_		

16.	Shri Sopan Kanchan, President, CIHs, Confederation of Indian Horticulture & Grape, Gultekdi, Pune (Maharashtra)	Member
17.	Shri Anil K. Gupta, Managing Director Container Corporation of India Ltd., CONCOR Bhawan, C-3, Mathura Road Opp. Apolo Hospital New Delhi-110 076 Phone: 91-11-41673093, 94, 95, 96 Fax : 91-11-41673112 Email.co.pro@concorindia.com	Member
18.	Ms. Ritu Kapoor , MD, Kashmir Apiaries Village- Malhipur, G.T. Road, Doraha-Ludhiana-141 421 Tel-(1628) 258 240 /258 640 Fax (1628) 661 699 / 661 698 Email.infor@kashmirhoney.com	Member
19.	Adviser (Agriculture), Planning Commission, New Delhi	Member
20	Dr. Amrik Singh Sandhu, Director, Indian Institute of Horticulture Research9IIHR), Hessarghatta Lake Post, Bangalore-560089 E-mail-director@iihr.erneet.in	Member
21	Dr. Dandin, Vice Chancellor, University of Horticulture Sciences Sector No. 60, Navanagar, Bagalokot-587102 Karnataka.	Member
22	Dr N.K. Dadlani, B-3, IARI, Pusa Complex, New Delhi-011-25842781 nkdadlani@rediffmail.com	Member
23	Dr P.G. Adsule, Director, National Research Centre for Grapes, ICAR, PB No. 3, Manjri Farm Post Solapur Road, Pune-412308 (Maharashtra)	Member
24.	Dr M.M. Anwar, National Research Centre for Seed Spices, Tabiji Farm, Ajmer 305 206	Member
25.	Shri Bijay Kumar, MD, National Horticulture Board, Ministry of Agriculture, GOI. 85-Institutional Area, Sector-18, Gurgaon-122015 mdnhb@yahoo.com Phone (0124)- 2342992 Fax (0124)- 2342991	Member Secretary

2. Terms of Reference (Specific)

- **2.1** To assess the extent achieved by the programmes/schemes in meeting their objectives during XI Plan and the extent contributed by the states in furthering the process of development of Horticulture in terms of financial allocation and deployment of qualified technical manpower.
- 2.2 Strengthening of delivery mechanism both at centers and states Government by closely involving existing organizations like ATMA, KVK, Growers Associations/SHG etc.
- 2.3 Review international and domestic scenario of horticulture sector. Identify area of constraints, suggest strategies for exploring opportunity in domestic & global horticulture market and suggest intervention.
- 2.4 To recommend an integrated approach for marketing of horticultural produce beginning form the service production to identification of procurement at reasonable price, assurance of connectivity to packaging and storage and processing till the disposal of the produce.
- 2.5 To review the status of plantation crops with specific reference to tea, coffee, spices, rubber etc and suggest intervention for increasing production and productivity and profitability.
- 2.6 To assess the role of the states in furthering the process of development of horticulture in terms of financial allocation and manpower.
- 2.7 To recommend modification for improvement in such of those schemes which have a potential of increasing horticulture production in the country, and also recommend doing away with those schemes which have made no significant impact so far.
- 2.8 To estimate figures on demand and supply of horticulture and plantation crops during the XII Plan and recommend schemes/interventions for increasing production along with financial implications.
- 2.9 To examine and recommend close coordination and active participation with the Ministry of Food Processing.

3. Terms of Reference (General)

- 3.1 The Chairman of Working Group may co-opt any other official/non official expert/representative of any organization as a member(s), if required.
- 3.2 The working Group may also examine and address any other issues which are important but not specifically spelt out in the TORs. The Working Group may devise its own procedure for conducting its business/meetings.
- 3.3. The expenditure of the members on TA/DA in connection with the meeting of the Working Group or any work incidental to the functions of the Working Group/Sub-Group will be borne by their respective parent Department / Ministry / Organization for official members and by the Planning Commission for non-official members as per entitlement of Class-I Officer of Government of India.
 - 3.4 The Working Group will submit its draft report to the Planning Commission by June,2011 and final one in September, 2011.

Dr. A. K. Tiwari, Deputy Adviser(Agriculture), Planning Commission, Yojana Bhavan, New Delhi 110001, Ph:011-23096710 Fax:011-23327703 E-mail tiwari.ak@nic.in will be the nodal officer of the Group and any further query/correspondence in this regards made with him.

Under Secretary to the Government of India

Distribution

Chairman and Members of the Working Group.

Copy to:

- 1. P.S. to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 2. P.S. to Member (Agri.), Planning Commission
- 3. P.S. to Member (Science), Planning Commission
- 4 PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 5. Sr. Consultant (Agri.), Planning Commission
- 6. Adviser (Plan Coordination & Management Division), Planning Commission
- 7. Adviser (Agri)/Adviser (SS) / Joint Adviser (Agri.) / Director (Agri.) Dy. Advisers / SROs / ROs in the Agriculture Division
- 8. Pr. Advisers / Advisers of all Divisions
- Account-I Section