(xi)

No. M-12043/8/2011-Agri. Government of India Planning Commission (Agriculture Division)

> Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi, dated: 9<sup>th</sup> March, 2011

> > -Member

## O FFICE MEMORANDUM

## Subject: Constitution of Working Group on Outreach of Institutional Finance, Cooperatives and Risk Management for Twelth Five Year Plan (2007-2012)- Regarding

In the context of preparing Twelth Five Year Plan (2007-2012), it has been decided to constitute a Working Group as cited above with the following composition and Terms of Reference:

2.	The composition of the Working Group:	
(i)	Dr. Y.S.P. Thorat , Former Chairman, National Bank for Agriculture	- Chairman
	and Rural Development, Indu Niketan, 226 E, Tarabai Park, Gen	
	Thorat Road, Kolhapur 416 003	
(ii)	Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India, Mumbai	- Member
(iii)	Prof. M.S. Sriram, Indian Institute of Management, Wing 6-E, Indian	- Member
	Institute of Management, Vastrapur, Ahmedabad 380015 India	
	Telephone++91-79-66324891, Fax:91-79-66324855	
	email: mssriram@iimahd.ernet.in	
(iv)	Shri Y.C. Nanda, Former Chairman NABARD, Flat No. 14/C-GH4	- Member
	Orchid Garden, Sector 54, Gurgaon-122002. Mobile 9810877060	
	e-mail: yc.nanda@nic.in	
(v)	Dr. Gopal Naik, Professor, Indian Institute of Management,	- Member
	Bannerghatta Road, Banglore- 560 076, Fax 080-26582450	
(vi)	Dr. R. Kannan, Member, (Actuary) Member, Insurance Regulatory &	- Member
	Development Authority, Parasirama Bhavanam, Basheerbagh,	
	Hyderabad-500 004, Fax No. 040-5582 3334	
(vii)	Shri D.N. Rao, Centurion School of Rural Enterprise Management,	- Member
	P.O.R. Seethapur, Via Uppalada, besides JITM Campus,	
	Paralakhemundi - 761 211. Gajapati, Orissa Tel – +91 (6815)	
	224200	
(viii)	Dr. Rajinder Singh Sidhu, Dean College of Basic Sciences &	- Member
	Humanities, PAU. Ludhina. Tel: 0161- 2401960-79, Ext-323,	
	deancobsh@pau.edu	
(ix)	Joint Secretary-(Banking & Insurance), Deptt. of Finacial Services,	- Member
	Ministry of Finance, New Delhi.	3.6 1
(x)	Managing Director, Agriculture Finance Corporation Ltd., Dhanraj	- Member
	Mahal, 1 <sup>st</sup> Floor, CSM Marg, Mumbai-400 0041.	

Executive Director, National Federation of State Cooperative Banks,

J.K. Chambers, Fifth Floor, Sector 17, Plot No. 76, Vashi, Navi Mumbai – 400 703.

(xii)	Joint Secretary (Credit, Cooperation & Crop Insurance), Deptt. of	- Member
(xiii)	Agriculture & Cooperation, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi.  Joint Secretary (Plantation), Ministry of Commerce, Udyog Bhawan,	- Member
(:)	New Delhi.	M 1
(xiv)	Chairman-cum-Managing Director, State Bank of India, Mumbai.	-Member
(xv)	Chairman-cum-Managing Director, Punjab National Bank	- Member
(xvi)	MD and CEO, ICICI – Lombard Ltd., Mumbai.	- Member
xvii)	Managing Director and CEO, IFFCO- TOKIO General Insurance Ltd., IFFCO Tower, PlotNo.3, Sector 29, Gurgaon, Haryana 122 001	- Member
tviii)	Chairman-cum-Managing Director, Agriculture Insurance Company of India Ltd. 13 <sup>th</sup> Floor, Amba Deep Building, Kasturba Gandhi Marg, New Delhi110001.	- Member
(xix)	Shri Vijay Mahajan, BASIX, D-9, First Floor, Greater Kailash Enclave-I, New Delhi-1100048, Tel: 011-41730252, 41730454	- Member
(xx)	Shri A P Fernandez, Executive Director, MYRADA, Head Office No.2 Service Road, Domular Layout, Banglore, 560071	- Member
(xxi)	Managing Director, National Cooperative Development Corporation, NCUI Building, 4, Siri Institutional Area, August Kranti Marg, Haus Khas, New Delhi-110 016.	- Member
xxii)	Director General, Vaikunthlal Mehta National Institute of Co-operative Management, University Road, Pune	- Member
xiii)	Shri K.U.B.Rao, Officer-in-Charge, <u>Department of Economic &amp; Policy Research</u> , Reserve Bank of India, Central Office Building, 7th Floor, Mumbai-400 001.	- Member
(xiv)	Shri Kapil Mandal, Vivekanand Seva Kendra, Uion, 24, Paraganas, West Bengal.	- Member
xxv)	Adviser(Agriculture), Planning Commission	-Member
(xvi)	Dr. Prakash Bakshi, Executive Director, NABARD, Bandra Kurla NABARD Complex, Mumbai	Member – Secretary

## 3. The **Terms of Reference (ToR)** of the Working Group will be as follows:

- (i) To review the flow of credit to the agriculture and allied sectors during the 11<sup>th</sup> Plan, giving sub-sectoral analysis, and to recommend measures to ease the flow of credit at reasonable rates of interest throught the country with special consideration of disadvantaged sections such as small and marginal farmers, women farmers, tenant farmers, oral lessees and landless labourers and to assess the short term and long term credit requirement of agricultural credit during XII plan.
- (ii) To review the contribution and performance of credit cooperatives towards outreach of credit to agriculture and allied activities and recommend measures for their increased proactive participation.

- (iii) To study the performance, efficacy and adequacy of risk management policies, strategies and programmes being implemented for the agriculture and allied sectors, and recommend course to be followed in Twelth Plan.
- (iv) To study the issues concerning micro-financing institutions such as their costs and rates of lending, their contribution in credit outreach, and recommend future course of actions.
- 4. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any other official/ non-official expert/representative of any organization as a member(s), if required.
- 5. The Working Group may examine and address any other issues which are important though not specifically spelt out in the ToR. The Working Group may devise its own procedures for conducting its business/meetings/field visits/constitution of Sub-Groups etc.
- 6. The expenditure of the members on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Working Group or any work incidental to the functions of the Working Group/ Sub Group will be borne by the parent Department/Ministry/Organization/State Government for official members, and by the Planning Commission for non-officials members as admissible to Class-I Officers of the Government of India.
- 7. The Working Group will submit its Draft Report to the Planning Commission by June 2011 and final one by Sept. 2011.
- 8. Shri Daljeet Singh, Director (Agriculture), Room No. 466. Yojana Bhawan, New Delhi-110001, (Telfax. No. 23096543, e-mail daljeet@nic.in) will be the nodal officer for this Group in Planning Commission. Any further queries/correspondence in this regards may be made with him, and also with the Member-Secretary of the Working Group.

(G Rajeev) Under Secretary to the Govt. of India

To

1. The Chairman, Members and Member-Secretary of Working Group on Outreach of Institutional Finance, Cooperatives and Risk Management for the Twelth Five Year Plan.

## Copy to:

- 1. P.S. to Deputy Chairman / Minister of State (Planning)/Members/Member Secretary, Planning Commission.
- 2. All Pr. Advisers/Advisers, Planning Commission
- 3. Secretary, D/o Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries.
- 4. Secretary, D/o Agriculture & Cooperation.
- 5. Secretary, D/o Agricultural Research & Education.
- 6. Secretary, M/o Food Processing Industry.
- 7. The Chairman, NABARD, Bandra Kurla Complex Mumbai.
- 8. P.C. Division, Planning Commission.

- Accounts-I Branch, Planning Commission. Information Officer, Planning Commission. 9.
- 10.

Under Secretary to the Govt. of India