No. 2(6)2010-H&FW Government of India Planning Commission

> Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg New Delhi – 110001

> > Dated 9th May 2011

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: Constitution of working group on Health Research for the formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-2017)

With a view to formulate the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-2017) for the Health Sector, it has been decided to constitute a Working Group on Health Research under the Chairmanship of **Dr. V.M. Katoch, Secretary, Department of Health Research, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare.**

The composition and the terms of reference of the Working group would be as follows:

1.	Dr. V.M. Katoch, Secretary, Department of Health Research & Director General, ICMR	Chairperson
2.	Prof M S Valiathan, Director of the Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute of Medical Sciences (SCTIMS), Thiruvananthapuram	Co Chairperson
3.	Joint Secretary (ME), MoHFW, Government of India	Member
4.	JS (Public Health), MoHFW, Government of India	Member
5.	Representative, Department of AYUSH, Government of India	Member
6.	Representative, Department of AIDS Control, Government of India	Member
7.	Representative, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India	Member
8.	Representative, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India	Member
9.	Representative, Department of Information Technology, Government of India	Member
10.	Representative, Defence Research and Development Organisation, Government of India	Member
11.	Representative Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) & Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), Government of India	Member

12.	Nominee of Secretary, Department of Scientific & Industrial Research (DSIR) & Director General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)	Member
13.	Nominee of Chairman, Atomic Energy, Government of India	Member
14.	Representative, Department of Environment & Forests Government of India	Member
15.	Dr. Satish Chandra, Director, National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), Hosur Road, Bangalore	Member
16.	Dr. Syed E. Hasnain, Former Vice Chancellor, University of Hyderabad	Member
17.	Dr. K. Ramnarayan, Vice Chancellor, Manipal University, Manipal	Member
18.	Dr. G.K. Rath, Prof. & Head, Institute Rotary Cancer Hospital (IRCH), AIIMS, New Delhi	Member
19.	Dr. U.C. Sharma, Vice Chancellor, S.S. University of Health Sciences, Guwahati, Assam	Member
20.	Prof. K.K. Talwar, Director, Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education & Research (PGIMER), Chandigarh	Member
21.	Dr. Ab. Hameed Zargar, Director, Sher-I-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences, Srinagar	Member
22.	Sarojini NB, Sama, Resource Group for Women and Health, New Delhi	Member
23.	Dr. George Thomas, Chief Orthopaedic Surgeon, St. Isabel's Hospital, Chennai and Editor, Indian Journal of Medical Ethics	Member
24.	Prof Padmanabhan, Former Director, Institute of Science	Member
25.	Dr. Indira Nath, Pediatrician, Fellow, Indian Academy of Science, Formerly at AIIMS	Member
26.	Principal Secretary (H&FW), Government of Andhra Pradesh	Member
27.	Principal Secretary (H&FW), Government of Kerala	Member
28.	Mr. S. M. Mahajan, Adviser (Health), Planning Commission	Member
29.	JS (DHR), Department of Health Research	Member Secretary

Terms of References

- 1. To identify major issues, areas for policy research in health sector for 12th Five Year Plan
- To identify technology and operational gaps in health especially in the context of wide range of capabilities and infrastructural base in the country and build up coordination of basic, applied and clinical research in the Medical and Public health education.
- To select technologies and approaches which are to be encouraged for development, implementation and evaluation in the public health programmes.
- 4. To identify and build up health research human resources and develop an interface between new technology developers (researchers in the Medical Institutions; State or Centre), health systems operators (Centre/State health services) and the beneficiaries (community).
- 5. To look into the research governance issues including ethical issues in medical and health research.
- 6. To explore the possibility of public-private partnership in medical, bio-medical and health research related areas.
- 7. The Chairman may constitute various specialists groups / Sub-groups/task forces etc. as considered necessary and co-opt other members to the Working Group for specific inputs.
- 8. Working Group will keep in focus the Approach paper to the 12th Five Year Plan as well as the identified goals, while making recommendations.
- 9. Efforts must be made to co-opt members from weaker sections especially SCs, Scheduled Tribes and minorities working at the field level.
- 10. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Working group with respect to the official members will be borne by their respective Ministry / Department. The expenditure towards TA/DA of the non-official working group members would be met by the Planning Commission as admissible to the class 1 officers of the Government of India.
- 11. The Working group would submit its draft report by 31st July 2011and final report by 31st August 2011.

(Shashi Kiran Baijal) Director (Health)

Copy to:

- 1. Chairman, all Members, Member Secretary of the Working Group
- 2. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 3. PS to Minister of State (Planning)
- 4. PS to all Members, Planning Commission
- 5. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 6. All Principal Advisers / Sr. Advisers / Advisers / HODs, Planning Commission
- 7. Director (PC), Planning Commission
- 8. Administration (General I) and (General II), Planning Commission
- 10. Accounts I Branch, Planning Commission
- 11. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 12. Library, Planning Commission

(Shashi Kiran Baijal) Director (Health)