### No.M-12015/1/2011-HRD Planning Commission

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001 Dated: 8<sup>th</sup> April, 2011

#### ORDER

Subject: Formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17) – Constitution of Working Group on Private Sector participation including PPP in Higher Education – regarding.

In the context of the formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17), it has been decided to set up a Working Group on Private Sector participation including PPP in Higher Education, under the Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development.

- 2. The Composition of the Working Group is at **Annexure I**
- 3. The Terms of Reference of the Working Group are given at Annexure- II
- 4. The Chairperson of the Working Group, if deemed necessary, may constitute sub-groups and/or may co-opt additional members.
- 5. The Working Group will finalize its report by 30<sup>th</sup> September 2011.
- 6. The expenditure on TA/DA etc. of the official members in connection with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by the parent Department/Ministry/ Organization to which the official belongs, as per the rules of entitlement applicable to them. The non-official members of the Working Group will be entitled to TA/DA as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India and this expenditure will be borne by the Convener Department.

( Shakila T. Shamsu) Joint Adviser (HRD) Telefax: 23096766 shakilat.shamsu@nic.in

#### **Copy forwarded to:**

- 1. Chairperson & Members of the Working Group.
- 2. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 3. PS to MOS (P&PI)
- 4. PS to All Members of Planning Commission
- 5. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 6. PS to Secretary(Expenditure), Department of Expenditure
- 7. Ministry of Finance (Plan Finance Division)
- 8. PS to Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs, New Delhi
- 9. Pr.Advisers/Sr. Consultants /Advisers/JS(Admn)/Heads of Division
- 10. I.F Cell, PC Division, Planning Commission
- 11. Admn. I/Accs.I/GenI I & II Sections, Planning Commission
- 12. Information Officer, Planning Commission
- 13. Library, Planning Commission

( Shakila T. Shamsu)
Joint Adviser (HRD)

#### Annexure-I

# LIST OF EXPERTS FOR THE WORKING GROUP ON PRIVATE SECTOR PARTICIPATION INCLUDING PPP IN HIGHER EDUCATION—TWELFTH FIVE YEAR PLAN.

| 1. Ms.Vibha Puri Das, Secretary (DoHE), MHRD – |   | Chairperson |
|--|---|-------------|
|  | Shri Gajendra Haldea,<br>Adviser to DCH,<br>Infrastructure Division,<br>Planning Commission                                     | Member      |
| 3.   | Dr. Rajeev Sangal, Director, international Institute of Information Technology, Gachibowli, Hyderabad (A.P.) Hyderabad – 500032 | Member      |
| 4.   | Shri Chandrajit Banerjee, Director General - CII,   | Member      |
| 5.   | Shri Harish Mariwala<br>President,<br>FICCI   | Member      |
| 6.   | Shri Dilip Modi,<br>President ,<br>ASSOCHAM   | Member      |
| 7.   | Smt. Sushma Berlia,<br>President<br>PHD CCI   | Member      |
| 8.   | Shri Som Mittal,<br>Chairman<br>NASSCOM   | Member      |
| 9.   | Smt. Shikha Sharma,<br>MD &CEO,<br>Axis Bank  | Member      |
| 10.  | Ms. Naina Lal Kidwai,<br>MD &CEO,<br>HSBC Bank India  | Member      |
| 11.  | Shri Harpal Singh,<br>Ranbaxy group   | Member      |

| 12. Manish Sabharwal<br>Chairman, Team lease Services  | Member          |
|--|-----------------|
| 13. Shri Anurag Behar Vice-Chancellor Azim Premji University   | Member          |
| <ol> <li>Shri Ashok Thakur,</li> <li>Spl. Secretary (Technical Education) ,</li> <li>MHRD</li> </ol> | Member          |
| 15. Shri N.K.Sinha,<br>Addl. Secretary (TEL),<br>MHRD  | Member          |
| <ol> <li>Principal Secretary (HE&amp; TE)         Govt. of Bihar     </li> </ol>                     | Member          |
| <ol> <li>Principal Secretary (HE&amp; TE)         Govt. of Maharashtra     </li> </ol>               | Member          |
| 18. Principal Secretary (HE&TE) Govt. of Andhra Pradesh  | Member          |
| <ol> <li>Principal Secretary (HE&amp;TE)         Govt. of Rajasthan     </li> </ol>                  | Member          |
| 20 Principal Secretary (HE&TE) Govt. of Haryana  | Member          |
| 21. Principal Secretary (HE&TE) Govt. of Uttar Pradesh   | Member          |
| <ol> <li>Principal Secretary (HE&amp;TE)</li> <li>Govt. of Karnataka</li> </ol>                      | Member          |
| 23. Shri P.R.Meena Director (HRD) Planning Commission  | Member          |
| <b>24.</b> Shri Amitabha Bhattacharya, Former Pr. Adviser(HRD), Planning Commission                  | Member          |
| 25. Shri Pawan Kumar Agarwal<br>Adviser (HE),<br>Planning Commission                                 | Member          |
| 26. Addl.Secy, HE<br>DoHE, MHRD  | Member-Convener |

## TERMS OF REFERENCE OF THE WORKING GROUP ON PRIVATE SECTOR PARTICIPATION INCLUDING PPP IN HIGHER EDUCATION - TWELFTH FIVE YEAR PLAN.

- 1. To examine the various dimensions of public private partnership in higher and technical education sector
- 2. To identify and frame viable PPP models in education sector and formulate policies for PPP in the sector,
- **3.** To examine the present rules and regulations that inhibits private investment and suggest suitable modifications/amendments in existing statutes
- **4.** To devise suitable policies to invigorate the educational and banking sectors in the overall context of PPP in social sector
- 5. To examine the viability gap funding and viability support funding in PPP models
- 6. To examine how PPP can ensure equity concerns and promote inclusion
- **7.** To review existing PPP success stories in educational enterprises and examine ways of adopting it
- **8.** To examine and suggest ways of converting unviable public institutions into PPP mode institutions