No. Q-20017/4/2011/LEM/LP Government of India Planning Commission (Labour, Employment &Manpower Division)

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi- 110001 Dated 26/04/2011.

Corrigendum

<u>Constitution of Working Group on Labour Laws & Other Labour</u> Regulations for the Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17).

In supersession of the earlier order of even No. dated 07/04/2011 on the above mentioned subject the revised order is as follows:

The composition of the Working Group on Labour Laws & Other Labour Regulations will be as follows:

1. Secretary, Chairman
Ministry of Labour & Employment,
Shram Shakti Bhawan,
New Delhi-110001.

2. Secretary (or nominee), Member Ministry of Law & Justice, A-Wing, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.

3. Secretary (or nominee), Member Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises, Udyog Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.

4. Secretary (or nominee), Member Ministry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises, Udyog Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.

5. Pr. Secretary (Labour), Govt. of Madhya Pradesh, Mantralaya, Vallabh Bhavan, Bhopal – 462004. Member

6. Pr. Secretary (Labour),
Govt. of Andhra Pradesh,
L- Block, Floor – 3,
Room No. 308,
Secretariat Office,
Hyderabad – 500022.

Member

7. Pr. Secretary (Labour), Govt. of Gujarat 5th Block, 6th Floor, Sachivalaya, Gandhinagar – 382010. Member

8. Pr. Secretary(Labour), Government of N.C.T. Of Delhi 5, Sham Nath Marg, Delhi - 110054. Member

9. Dr. Bibek Debroy,
Secretary-General, PHD Chamber of
Commerce & Industry,
PHD House,
4/2 Siri Institutional Area
August Kranti Marg, New Delhi 110016.

Member

10. Member Director, International Management Institute, B-10, Outub Institutional Area, Tara Crescent, New Delhi-110016. Dr. Subhashish Gangopadhyay, 11. Member Managing Trustee & Research Director, India Development Foundation 4101, Near Orchid Square DLF Phase -IV Gurgaon - 122002. 12. Director General, Member V.V. Giri National Labour Institute, Sector-24, Noida, District – Gautam Budh Nagar, UP- 201 301. Member 13. Dr. M.K.Pandhe, Vice President, CITU, 13-A, Rouse Avenue, New Delhi-110002. 14. Dr. G. Sanjeeva Reddy, Member President, Indian National Trade Union Congress, "Shramik Kendra", 4, Bhai Veer Singh Marg, New Delhi-110001. Shri C.K. Sajjinarayanan, 15. Member President, Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh, Gayatri Link Road, Ayatole, Trichur – 680003,

Kerala.

16.	Chairman or Representative of the Employers' Federation of India, Army & Navy Building, 148, Mahatama Gandhi Road, Mumbai – 400 001.	Member
17.	Shri Manish Sabharwal, CEO, Team Lease Services Pvt. Ltd., House No. 26, Palmgrove Road of Victoria Road, Bangalore – 560047.	Member
18.	Shri Vishram Jamdar, President, Laghu Udyog Bharti, Anand Rao Vide Smriti Parisar, 184, Shivaji Nagar, Nagpur – 440016.	Member
19.	Shri Aseem Sarode, Flat No. 302, Anil Houshing Society, Oppt. Kamla Nehru Park Off Bhandarkar Road, Pune-411004.	Member
20.	Dr. Ajeenkya D. Patil, D.Y. Patil Group, D.Y. Patil Building, Opposite MIG Colony, Worli, Mumbai – 400 025.	Member
21.	Shri Ashish Sharma, Advocate, K-14-B, Saket, New Delhi- 110017.	Member
22.	Adviser (LEM) or nominee, Planning Commission	Member
23.	Labour & Employment Adviser, Ministry of Labour & Employment, GOI, Shram Shakti Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.	Convener

2. The Terms of Reference of the working group will be as under:

- a) To review Labour Laws and other Labour Regulations and to suggest modifications which would help to expand regular wage employment.
- b) To suggest appropriate measures so as to ensure healthy industrial relations and promote productivity among workers.
- c) To review the enforcement of existing labour laws and regulations and suggest modifications if any, required for expanding regular wage employment.
- d) To suggest initiatives in the legislative and administrative domain that will strike a balance between protecting the interests of labour and the need for providing operational flexibility to companies which might contribute to a faster growth in employment in organized sector.
- e) To examine the need for special measures that need to be taken for Special Economic Zones (SEZs), Industrial Parks, Export Zones and other locations/activities that foster creation of large new employment opportunities.
- f) To examine the nature of existing labour laws in relation to regulatory activities, provision of social security and labour welfare in the smaller establishments.
- g) To suggest an approach towards contract labour, in particular the measures to provide social security.
- h) To identify the Laws which, i) are no longer needed and need to be repealed; ii) are in harmony with climate of economic liberalization and hence need no change; and iii) require changes and revision in the rules, regulations, orders and notifications etc. issued there under.
- i) To examine the extent of coverage of labour through the monitoring and reporting system at State and Central Govt. level in regard to the implementation of the Labour Laws.

- j) Any other issue(s) concerning Labour Laws & Other Labour Regulations with the consent of the Chairman of the Working Group.
- 3. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any other person as Member of the Working Group if considered necessary.
- 4. The Working Group will submit its report by 31st July, 2011.
- 5. The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Working Group in respect of the official members will be borne by the respective Ministry/Department. Non-official members of the Working Group will be entitled for TA/DA as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India. (Travel entitlement by Air India/Indian Air Lines [Economy class] only.) This would be met by the Ministry of Labour & Employment.
- 6. For the purpose of Liaisoning with Planning Commission by the Ministry of Labour & Employment in respect of this working group Smt. A. Srija, Director (Labour, Employment & Manpower), Room No. 319(A), Yojana Bhawan, New Delhi, Tel. 23096710 or 23042335) will be the officer concerned.

(Jeewan Sharma) Deputy Secretary to the Government of India

To Chairman and all the Members (incl. Convener) of the Working Group.

Copy to:

- 1. PS to DCH/ MOS(Planning)/ Members/Member-Secretary, Planning Commission.
- 2. All Principal Advisers/ Sr. Consultants/ Sr. Advisers/Advisers/ HODs in Planning Commission.
- 3. Prime Minister's Office, South Block, New Delhi.
- 4. Cabinet Secretariat, Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 5. Information Officer, Planning Commission.

- 6. Joint Secretary (Administration), M/o Labour & Employment.
- 7. Director (Finance), Planning Commission.

(Jeewan Sharma) Deputy Secretary to the Government of India
