No. Q-20017/7/2011/LEM/LP Government of India Planning Commission (Labour, Employment & Manpower Division)

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi- 110001 Dated 26/04/2011.

Corrigendum

<u>Constitution of Working Group on Occupational Health and Safety</u> for the <u>Twelfth Five Year Plan (2012-17).</u>

In supersession of the earlier order of even No. dated 07/04/2011 on the above mentioned subject the revised order is as follows :

The composition of the Working Group on Occupational Health and Safety will be as follows:

1.	Secretary, Ministry of Labour & Employment Shram Shakti Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.	Chairman
2.	Secretary (or nominee), Ministry of Agriculture, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.	Member
3.	Secretary (or nominee), Ministry of Mines, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.	Member
4.	Secretary (or nominee), M/o Road, Transport & Highways, Transport Bhawan, 1, Parliament Street, New Delhi-110001.	Member

5.	Secretary(Labour), Govt. of Maharashtra Matralaya, Room No. 620-A, Mumbai – 400032.	Member
6.	Secretary(Labour), Govt. of Karnataka, MS Building, Bangalore – 560001.	Member
7.	Pr. Secretary(Labour), Govt. of Madhya Pradesh, Mantralaya, Vallabh Bhavan, Bhopal – 462004.	
8.	Secretary(Mines), Govt. of Jharkhand, HEC, Mantralaya, Project Building, Dhurba, Ranchi – 834001.	Member
9.	Secretary (Labour), Govt. of Rajasthan, Secretariat, Jaipur – 302005.	Member
10.	Secretary(Labour), Govt. of Haryana, Civil Secretariat, Chandigarh – 160001	Member

11.	Director, National Institute of Occupational Health, Meghani Nagar, Ahmedabad – 380016.	Member
12.	Director General, National Safety Council, CLI Building, N.S. Mankikar Marg, Sion, Mumbai – 400022.	Member
13.	Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research, P.B. No. 4911, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi-29.	Member
14.	Director General, Factory Advice Services and Labour Institute, CLI Building, N.S. Mankikar Marg, Sion, Mumbai – 400022.	Member
15.	Director General, Mines Safety (DGMS) Dhanbad, Jharkhand-826001	Member
16.	Dr. M.K.Pandhe, Vice President, CITU, 13-A, Rouse Avenue, New Delhi-110002.	Member
17.	Dr. G. Sanjeeva Reddy, President, Indian National Trade Union Congress, "Shramik Kendra", 4, Bhai Veer Singh Marg, New Delhi-110001.	Member

18.	President or Nominee, Bhartiya Mazdoor Sangh, Tilak Gali, Paharganj, New Delhi-110 055	Member
19.	Secretary General or nominee, SEWA, SEWA Reception Centre, Opp. Victoria Garden, Bhadra, Ahmedabad – 380001	Member
20.	President or nominee, Hind Mazdoor Sabha, 120, Babar Road New Delhi- 110 001	Member
21.	President or Nominee, Council of Indian Employers, Federation House, Tansen Marg, New Delhi-110 001	Member
22.	All India Manufactures` Organization, Jeevan Sahakar 4 th Floor, Sir Phirozshah Mehta Road, Fort Mumbai- 400 001	Member
23.	Shri Chandrajeet Banerjee, Director General Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), The Mantosh Sondhi Centre, 23, Institutional Area, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003.	Member

24.	Secretary General, FICCI, Federation House, Tansen Marg, New Delhi-110001.	Member
25.	President or Nominee, ASSOCHAM, ASSOCHAM Corporate Office, 1, Community Centre Zamrudpur Kailash Colony, New Delhi – 110 048	Member
26.	Adviser(Health), Planning Commission.	Member
27.	Adviser(LEM), Planning Commission.	Member
28.	Additional Secretary, (Occupational Safety & Health,), Ministry of Labour & Employment, Rafi Marg, New Delhi.	Convener

- 2. The Terms of Reference of the working group will be as under:
 - a) To review the existing set up for Occupational Safety & Health in the work place and to suggest ways to improve it.
 - b) To examine the efficiency of the administrative machinery under the State Governments to ensure occupational safety and health to the workers in factories and other non-agricultural establishments through the institution of "Factory inspector" which exist under the Factory Act, and any other relevant Act(s).
 - c) To suggest the modalities for setting up of a National Board of Occupational Safety and Health so as to develop service providers/a band of professionals who are proficient in assessing the health and occupational safety at work place.

- d) To suggest such other measures as may be necessary to ensure occupational health and safety of workers i) in the agricultural occupations and ii) nonoccupational agricultural workers, in particular, workers in non-registered factories, road transport, shops, eating establishments, printing, dyeing, chemical storage and handling etc.
- e) To suggest ways to improve occupational safety and health practices in low income but high workers density occupations clusters.
- f) To examine the efficacy of regulations concerning the health and safety implemented by Govt. Departments other than 'Labour' such as Explosive Act, Boiler Act, etc.
- g) Any other issue(s) concerning occupational safety and health with the consent of the Chairman of the Working Group.

3. The Chairman of the Working Group may co-opt any other person as Member of the Working Group if considered necessary.

4. The Working Group will submit its report by 31st July, 2011.

5. The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Working Group in respect of the official members will be borne by the respective Ministry/Department. Non-official members of the Working Group will be entitled for TA/DA as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India. (Travel entitlement by Air India/Indian Air Lines [Economy class] only.) This would be met by the Ministry of Labour & Employment.

6. For the purpose of Liaisoning with Planning Commission by the Ministry of Labour & Employment in respect of this working group Shri K.N.Pathak, Joint Adviser(Labour, Employment & Manpower), Room No. 512, Yojana Bhawan, New Delhi, (Tel. 23096507 or 23042536) will be the officer concerned.

(Jeewan Sharma) Deputy Secretary to the Government of India

То

Chairman and all the Members (incl. Convener) of the Working Group.

Copy to :

- 1. PS to DCH/ MOS(Planning)/ Members/Member-Secretary, Planning Commission.
- 2. All Principal Advisers/ Sr. Consultants/ Sr. Advisers/Advisers/ HODs in Planning Commission.
- 3. Prime Minister's Office, South Block, New Delhi.
- 4. Cabinet Secretariat, Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 5. Information Officer, Planning Commission.
- 6. Joint Secretary(Administration), M/o Labour & Employment.
- 7. Director (Finance), Planning Commission.

(Jeewan Sharma) Deputy Secretary to the Government of India
