F.No 12(1)-2011/DP Government of India Planning Commission (Development Policy Division)

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi-110001 Dated: the 27th April, 2011

<u>Order</u>

Subject: Constitution of Working Group on Consumer Protection for the 12th Plan Period

In the context of the formulation of the Twelfth Five Year Plan, it has been decided to constitute a Working Group on Consumer Protection for the 12th Plan Period.

The composition the Working Group will be as under:

1	
1	Secretary, Department of Consumer Affairs - Chairman
2	Director General, Bureau of Indian Standards
3	Chairman, Forwards Market Commission
4	Representative of Food Safety and Standards Authority of India, MoH&FW
5	Representative of National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
6	Representative of Competition Commission of India
7	Adviser (Development Policy), Planning Commission
8	Representative of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
9	Representative of NIC
10	Director, National Physical Laboratory
11	DG, National Test House, Kolkata
12	Representative of IIPA
13	Representative of Government of Uttar Pradesh
14	Representative of Government of Andhra Pradesh
15	Representative of Government of Gujarat
16	Representative of Government of Assam
17	Representative of CII
18	Representative of ASSOCHAM
19	Representative of FICCI
20	Joint Secretary(CPU), Department of Consumer Affairs - Member Secretary

Terms of Reference:

- 1. To review the existing framework and recommend a comprehensive set of policies, programmes and action plan in pursuit of a strong movement for consumer protection covering, inter alia, consumer rights to awareness, education, redressal of grievances and quality infrastructure, standardisation & product safety.
- 2. To identify specific areas requiring Government intervention and to suggest ways and means to enhance responsiveness of private sector to consumers.
- 3. To make consumer disputes redressal more effective by providing for speedy and inexpensive systems and procedures.
- 4. To make an assessment of resource requirements for the purpose and manner of financing for the Twelfth Five Year Plan.

The Chairman of the Working Group may constitute Sub-Groups and/or co-opt additional members as may be considered necessary.

The expenses towards TA/DA of the official members in connection with the meetings of the Working Group will be borne by their respective Ministry/ Department. In the case of Non-official members, expenditure towards their TA/ DA would be met by the Department of Consumer Affairs, as admissible to Grade I officers of the Government of India.

The Working Group shall submit its report by July 29, 2011.

(Dr. Yogesh Suri) Adviser (Development Policy) Tel. 23096610

To,

The Chairman & Members of the Working Group.

Copy also to:

- 1. P.S. to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 2. P.S. to Minister of State (Planning)
- 3. P.S. to all Members of Planning Commission
- 4. P.S. to Member-Secretary, Planning Commission
- 5. All Principal Advisers/ Sr. Advisers/ Advisers/ HODs, Planning Commission
- 6. Director (PC), Planning Commission
- 7. Administration (General-I) and (General-II), Planning Commission
- 8. Accounts-I Branch, Planning Commission
- 9. IFA Unit, Planning Commission
- 10. Information Officer, Planning Commission.
- 11. Library, Planning Commission

(Dr. Yogesh Suri) Adviser (Development Policy) Tel. 23096610