Appendix A: List of Persons Contacted

The team from Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research had the benefit of discussion with a number of people. We thank them for their time and suggestions The list of people with whom we had discussions is as follows:

- A Basu, Director Planning, Irrigation
- A K Bhagwati, Director, Fisheries Research Centre
- A K Bora, Professor, Tea Husbandry & Technology Department
- A K Pathak, Director of Research (Agriculture)
- A K Sarma, ACE (HQ)
- A K Sarma, ACE(H Q)
- A K Sinha, Head, Nematology Department
- A N Borah Joint Secretary, Handloom & Textile
- B Baruah, Professor, Agricultural Economics, Department
- B M Das, Joint Director, Eco & State
- B N Sarmah, Head, Agronomy Department
- D Phukan, President, All Assam SSI Assocn
- D M Singh, Director, Wildlife, Kaziranga National Park and other Senior Officials of Forest Department of Golaghat and Jorhat District
- F Ali, Deputy Director, Sericulture
- G C Gogoi, CE (GNM)
- G C Medhi Under Secretary,
- G C Pathak, SE (RC), ASEB
- G L Kaul, Vice Chancellor
- H K Mohan, Joint Director, Sericulture
- HN Kakati Director, AH & Vety
- HPK Singh, Additional Director, P&D
- H S Das, IAS, Commr & Secretary, P&D Deptt

H Sonawal, IAS, Commr & Secretary, Health

J Baruah, IAS, MD, AIDC

J C Goswami - Joint Secretary, Border Area Deptt

K Baruah, CA, ASEB

K K Barua, Head, Plant Physiology Department

K K Hazarika, IAS, Member

K K Mittal, IAS, Commr, P&R D

K K Nath, Head, Agro-Meteorology Department

L Rynzah, IAS, Principle Secretary & Commr & Secretary, Agriculture

M K Sarma, Director, FINER

Md Hasan Ali - Secretary, S W Deptt

N C Dhekialphukan, Director, Economics & Statistics

N G Barooah, IAS, Secretary, P&D

N K Bora - Secretary, PWD

N K Das, CE (DISTRIB), ASEB

N Kakati - S E (PHE)

N M Hussain - Director, Handloom & Textile

P Barthakur, IAS, Director, Industries

P Basumatary, Member, ASEB

P C Deka, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture

P C Gohain, Director, Border Area

PK Baruah - Under Secy , Flood Comtrol

P K Bordoloi, Director of Extension Education

P K Dutta, Director of Physical Plant Dr

P K Goswami, Senior Manager(PM&C) N R L

P Neog, Secretary, Irrigation

P Saikia - Joint Secretary, P & D Deptt

Pranab Kumar Bora, IAS, Chief Secretary

- R Baruah, Head, Biochemistry Department
- S Ali, Joint Secretary , Power
- S Ali, Joint Secretary, Power
- S C Das, IAS, Commr & Secretary, Industries
- S C Longmailai Joint Secretary , Social Welfare
- S Das, Manager, Power Grid Corporation
- S Jerath, IAS, Commr & Secretary, Power
- S K Saha, Deputy CAO, ASEB
- S P Dutta, Director, P & D
- T C Baruah, Head, Soil Sciences Department
- T C Brahma, Head, Animal Husbandry Department
- T N Barpujari Jointt Director, Fishery
- T N Saikia, In-Charge, Agro-Economic Research Centre
- Z M Haque, Deputy Secretary, Power
- Z M Haque, Deputy Secretary , Power

Persons interviewed in various places for Chapter 6 on Connectivity on the Brahmaputra.

In Delhi

B B Basu, Faculty member, IDSA

Bindaswary Pathak, Chairman, Sulabh International Dr

K L Thapar, Director, Asian Institute of Transport Development

K L Thukral, Senior Consultant, Asian Institute of Transport Development

P K Jha, Vice Chairman, Sulabh International Dr

R K Jain, IRTS, (Executive Director Perspective Planning), Railway Broad, Ministry Of Railways

R M Nair, Member (Technical), IWAI

R P Khare, Dy. Director. IWAI, Government of India

In Kolkota/Haldia

A K Sinharay, Chief Manager (RSD), CIWTC Ltd

Aditya Banka, Director, ODC Carriers Pvt Ltd

D K Sinha, (Assistant Manager, Finance), CIWTC Ltd

H P Barooah , President , North-East Chamber of Commerce and Industry

P Dasgupta, Secretary, Bengal Chamber of Commerce and Industry

S K Mandal, Assistant Director (Planning and Research), Calcutta Port Trust

S N Chakrabartty, Deputy Director (P&R), Calcutta Port Trust

Siddhartha Banerjee, Manager (I&CF), Calcutta Port Trust

At Guwahati

Dinesh Chandra Sarma, Sr. Commercial Manager, NF Railway.

Dulal Goswami, Department of Environmental Science, Gauhati University Prof

G.P. Singh, Executive Engineer, Brahmaputra Board

Himanshu Das, IAS, Development Commissioner, Government of Assam

Karuna Choudhary, General Manager, Brahmaputra Board

M K Saha, Deputy Director, IWAI

M K Saha, Divisional Manager, CIWTC Ltd

Pranab Bora, IAS. Chief Secretary, Government of Assam

R. Majumdar, Executive Engineer (Commercial), Assam State Inland Water Transport Corporation

Utpalprana Hazarika, CPRO, NF Railway Ms

At Jorhat

Gasnabi, Hydrologist Divisional Executive Engineer, Flood Control Department Prof

Nara Bora, Ex. Executive Engineer Flood Control Department

O P Gattani, President, Jorhat Chamber Of Commerce

Ravi S Prasad, IAS, Deputy Commissioner, Jorhat.

A total of 56 persons were interviewed at Neamatighat, including daily passengers, boat men, residents of the ghat and daily wage labourers.

At Dibrugarh

Divisional Executive Engineer, ASIWT Corporation

Divisional Executive Engineer, Flood Control Department

Manoj Jalan, MD, Jalan Industries

Mukti Gogoi, ADC, Dibrugarh

A total of 41 persons were interviewed at Dibrugarh ghat; they included daily passengers, boat men, residents of the ghat and daily wage labourers.