No. M-13040/8/2006-C&I Government of India Planning Commission (C&I Division)

Yojana Bhavan, Sansad Marg, New Delhi, Dated 24-3-06

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject:-Committee on Information, Communication and Entertainment – **Sub Committee** on "Going Digital".

In the meeting held on 31-01-2006 under the Chairmanship of Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister, it was decided by the Committee on Information, Communication and Entertainment (ICE) to constitute small working groups in select areas. Accordingly, with the approval of the Competent Authority a sub group has been constituted. The following is the composition of Sub Group on "Going Digital":

1. Sri Rajeeva Ratna Shah, Member Secretary, Planning	Chairman
Commission	
2. Secretary, Mol&B	Member
3. Secretary, DOT	Member
4. CEO Prasar Bharati	Member
5. President, CETMA	Member
6. President, MAIT	Member
7. President, NASSCOM	Member
8. President-ISP Association of India	Member
9. Co-chairman, FICCI Entertainment Committee	Member
10. Chairman, CII Entertainment Committee	Member
11. Chairman, Film & Television Producers Guild of India Ltd.	Member
12. President, Cable TV Operators Association	Member
13. Shri Rajiv Mehrotra, Managing Trustee, Public Service	Member
Broadcasting trust.	
14. Shri Virat Bhatia, AT&T Communications services	Member
15. Shri Abhijit Saxena, President Zee Telefilms Ltd. Mumbai	Member
16. Shri Sameer Rao, VP-Strategy, Planning & Regulatory, STAR	Member
India Pvt. Ltd.	
17. Representative, PMO	Member

Terms of reference for the sub group are as follows:

- 1. To review the existing TV Broadcasting sector and evolve a policy for transiting from analogue to digital TV transmission before 2015
- 2. To assess the infrastructural requirements for:

- a. Conversion of analogue to digital channels.
- b. Digital broadcasting/studio upgradation.
- c. Production/availability of digital TV sets.
- d. Analogue to Digital converters for cable operators.
- 3. To identify regulatory issues involved and workout requisite policy interventions.
- 4. Any other item that the sub-group deems necessary to be included for making the recommendations useful.

Non-official members will be entitled to TA/DA as admissible to Grade I officers of Government of India and this expenditure will be borne by the Planning Commission.

(S.A.Rahim) Under Secretary to the Govt. of India Tel.No. 23096497

To

- 1. Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 2. Secretary, MoI&B
- 3. Secretary, DOT
- 4. CEO Prasar Bharati
- 5. President, CETMA
- 6. President, MAIT
- 7. President, NASSCOM
- 8. President-ISP Association of India
- 9. Co-chairman, FICCI Entertainment Committee
- 10. Chairman, CII Entertainment Committee
- 11. Chairman, Film & Television Producers Guild of India Ltd.
- 12. President, Cable TV Operators Association
- 13. Shri Rajiv Mehrotra, Managing Trustee, Public Service Broadcasting trust.
- 14. Shri Virat Bhatia, AT&T Communications services
- 15. Shri Abhijit Saxena, President Zee Telefilms Ltd. Mumbai, 135, Continental Building, Dr. Annie Besant Raod, Worli, Mubai-400018.
- 16. Shri Sameer Rao, VP-Strategy, Planning & Regulatory, STAR India Pvt. Ltd., Star House, Off Dr. E Moses Road, Mahalaxmi Mumbai-400011.
- 17. Representative, PMO
- 18. JS(Admn.), Planning Commission

(S.A.Rahim) Under Secretary to the Govt. of India