## NO.:1-1/2005-UI(A) Government of India Ministry of Human Resource Development Department of Secondary & Higher Education (UIA Section)

Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi, 29th May, 2006

Sub.: Constitution of Oversight Committee to monitor implementation of reservation in Higher Educational Institutions.

In order to monitor the implementation of the decision to introduce reservations in Higher Educational Institutions the Central Government hereby constitutes the following Oversight Committee:-

<ol> <li>Shri Veerappa Moily, Chairman,</li> </ol>	
Administrative Reforms Commission	- Chairman
2 Shri R.R.Shah, Member Secretary, Planning Commission	- Member Secretary.
3. Dr. B. Mungekar, Member Planning Commission	- Member
4. Prof. Sukhadeo K. Thorat, Chairman, UGC	- Member
5. Dr. R. Mashelkar, Director General, CSIR	
6 Dr P. V. Vaidvonathe Armer Compact	- Member
<ol> <li>Dr. R.V. Vaidyanatha Ayyar, Former Secretary to Government of India</li> </ol>	- Member
<ol> <li>Dr. G. Mohan Gopal, Former VC, National Law School of India, Bangalore</li> </ol>	- Member
8. Prof. N.K. Ganguly, Director General, ICMR	- Member
9. Dr. R.A. Yadav, Vice Chairman, AICTE	- Member
10.Secretary, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare	- Ex-Officio Member
11 Secretary, Department of Expenditure	
12. Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research	do -
and Education	do -
13. Secretary, Department of S&HF	do

- The Committee would inter-alia, look into the following aspects:
  - Implementation of 27% reservation for the OBCs in institutes of higher learning; and
  - (ii) Assessment of additional infrastructure and other requirements for increasing the overall availability of seats to a level so that the present level of seats available to the general category students does not decline.
- The Oversight Committee would get suitable inputs by the 31<sup>st</sup> July, 2006 regarding the course of action to be adopted for giving effect to the implementation of

reservation in a time bound manner from the Groups to be constituted by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (Department of Secondary & Higher Education) in respect of Technological/Engineering Institutions, Management Education and Central Universities; the Ministry of Agriculture in respect of Agriculture Education; and, the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare in respect of Medical Education.

The Committee shall submit its report by the 31<sup>st</sup> August, 2006.

(Anupama Bhatnagar)

Aufous

Deputy Secretary to the Govt. of India

## Copy to:

- 1. Chairman of the Committee
- 2. Member Secretary of the Committee
- 3. All Members of the Committee
- Joint Secretary, Prime Minister's Office, with reference to PMO U.O. No. 610/31/2/31/2006-ES.2, dated 27.05.2006
- 5. PS to HRM
- 6. JS & FA, MHRD
- 7. Guard File.