Multi-Level Planning Division

MLP Division deals with:

- i) Special Area Programmes i.e Hill Areas Development Programme (HADP), Western Ghats Development Programme (WGDP) and Border Area Development Programme (BADP).
- ii) Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana (RSVY).

(1) Special Area Programmes :

i) Hill Areas Development Programme:

This Programme is being implemented in designated hill areas of Assam, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal.

ii) Western Ghats Development Programme:

This Programme is being implemented in 159 Talukas of Western Ghats area comprising parts of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

iii) Border Area Development Programme:

MLP Division is the nodal Division for the Border Area Development Programme which covers 17 States.

(2) Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana:

Its aim is to tackle the development problems of those areas which despite existing efforts continue to be characterized by high poverty, low growth and poor governance.

- (i) Special Plan for Bihar:
- (ii) Special Plan for the KBK districts of Orissa:
- (iii) Backward Districts Initiative:

This is a new initiative which has been introduced in the Annual Plan 2002-03. This component will cover 100 districts in the Tenth Plan period in a phased manner.