## F. No. 571/2/3/2010-Cab.III Government of India Cabinet Secretariat Rashtrapati Bhawan

. . .

New Delhi, the 11<sup>th</sup> February, 2010

## OFFICE MEMORANDUM

# Subject: Setting up of the National Transport Development Policy Committee as a High Level Committee.

It has been decided to constitute a High Level Committee, the National Transport Development Policy Committee (NTDPC) under the chairmanship of Shri Rakesh Mohan who will hold this assignment in an Honorary capacity with the status of a Minister of State.

- 2. The Terms of Reference of the Committee will be as under: -
  - (i) To assess the transport requirements of the economy for the next two decades in the context of economic, demographic and technological trends at local, national and global levels.
  - (ii) To recommend a comprehensive and sustainable policy for meeting the transport requirements keeping in view the comparative resource cost advantages of various modes of transport i.e. road, rail, air, shipping and inland water transport with a special focus on the modes that have developed less than economically desirable and the need to:
    - (a) encourage a rational mix of various modes of transport in order to minimize the overall resource cost to the economy,
    - (b) ensure balance between the ability of transport to serve economic development and to conserve energy, protect the environment, promote safety, and sustain future quality of life,
    - (c) ensure universal rural connectivity,
    - (d) address the special problems of remote and difficult areas on the one hand and of urban and metropolitan areas on the other, and
    - (e) adopt and evolve suitable technologies for cost effective creation, economical maintenance and efficient utilization of transport assets.

- (iii) To assess the investment requirements of the transport sector and to identify the roles of state and private sector in meeting these investment needs and to suggest measures for greater commercial orientation of transport services. In this context the Committee should pay particular attention to reviewing the experience with the PPP approach or suggest ways of modifying it further.
- (iv) To examine the laws, rules and regulations pertaining to various modes of transport and traffic and to suggest measures for strengthening their enforcement in the interest of the community and streamlining the procedures and processes in line with the needs of a fast growing modern economy.
- (v) To identify areas where data base needs to be improved in order to formulate and implement policy measures recommended by the Committee.
- (vi) To suggest measures to improve the capacity to evolve and implement projects.
- (vii) To suggest measures for implementing various components of the recommended policy within a specified time frame.
- (viii) To recommend any other measure which the Committee consider relevant to the items (i) and (vii) above.

3. The Committee may get special studies carried out by expert bodies. The Headquarters of the Committee will be at New Delhi. The Committee may visit such places and consult such stakeholders and experts as may be considered necessary for its work. The tenure of the Committee shall be 18 months.

- 4. The Committee will be serviced by the Planning Commission.
- 5. The composition of the NTDPC shall be as under: -

## <u>Chairman</u>

Shri Rakesh Mohan (in Honorary capacity, with status of MoS).

## Members:

- 1) Chairman, Railway Board
- 2) Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development
- 3) Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways
- 4) Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation
- 5) Secretary, Ministry of Shipping
- 6) Secretary, Department of Financial Services
- 7) Secretary, Ministry of Coal
- 8) Secretary, Ministry of Power

- 9) Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
- 10) Adviser to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 11) Chairman, RITES
- 12) Shri K.L. Thapar, Chairman, Asian Institute of Transport Development
- 13) Shri M. Ravindra, former Chairman, Railway Board
- 14) Shri S. Sundar, former Secretary, Transport & Shipping
- 15) Shri D.P. Gupta, former DG Roads
- 16) Prof. Dinesh Mohan, IIT Delhi
- 17) Shri Bharat Seth, MD, Great Eastern Shipping
- 18) Dr. Rajiv B. Lall, MD, IDFC
- 19) Shri Mohandas Pai, Infosys
- 20) Shri Cyrus Guzder, Chairman, AFL Group
- 21) Senior Consultant (Transport), Planning Commission as Member Secretary

Sd./-(Puneet Agarwal) Deputy Secretary Tele : 23016576

То

## Chairman and Members of the Committee

#### Copy forwarded to:-

- (1) Smt. Sudha Pillai, Secretary, Planning Commission.
- (2) Shri Davinder P.S. Sandhu, Director, Prime Minister's Office with Reference to their U.O. No. 430/31/C/12/2010-ES.I, dated 9.2.2010.

Sd./-(Puneet Agarwal) Deputy Secretary