Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font Size || Print Button
This File was last Updated/Modified: November 05 2014 06:23:15.


The Prime Minister is the Chairman of the Planning Commission, which works under the overall guidance of the National Development Council. The Deputy Chairman and the full time Members of the Commission, as a composite body, provide advice and guidance to the subject Divisions for the formulation of Five Year Plans, Annual Plans, State Plans, Monitoring Plan Programmes, Projects and Schemes.

The Planning Commission functions through several Divisions, each headed by a Senior Officer. The Set up is:

  1. Rao Inderjit Singh , Minister of State for Planning (Independent Charge)
  2. Ms. Sindhushree Khullar, Secretary
  3. Senior Officials
  4. Grievance Officers
  5. Reference Material 2010 - PDF | MS Word


  • Deputy Chairman Notification dated 26/05/2014 : (PDF) English
  • Members' Notification dated 26/05/2014 : (PDF) English
  • Composition of the Planning Commission (as on 13/08/2013): English || Hindi
  • Composition of the Planning Commission (as on 30/04/2013): English || Hindi
  • Composition of the Planning Commission (as on 17/01/2013): English || Hindi
  • Composition of the Planning Commission (as on 24/12/2012): English || Hindi
  • Composition of the Planning Commission (as on 11/09/2012): English || Hindi
  • Composition of the Planning Commission (as on 30/09/2011): English || Hindi


  1. Agriculture
  2. Communication, IT and Information
  3. Decentralized planning, Panchayati Raj and Special Area Programme (Including Western Ghat Secretariat)
  4. Development Policy and Perspective Planning
  5. Direct Benefit Transfer
  6. Environment and Forests (Including Climate Change Cell)
  7. Financial Resources
  8. Health, Family Welfare and Nutrition
  9. Housing and Urban Affairs (including Home Affairs Cell)
  10. Human Resources Development
  11. Industries
  12. Infrastructure
  13. International Economics
  14. International Relations Cell
  15. Labour, Employment and Manpower
  1. Minerals
  2. Minorities Division
  3. Plan Coordination and Management
  4. Power and Energy
  5. Project Appraisal and Management
  6. Rural Development
  7. Science and Technology
  8. Social Justice and Social Welfare
  9. Research Division
  10. State Plans (Including Island Development Authority Cell)
  11. Transport and Tourism
  12. Village and Small Enterprises
  13. Voluntary Action Cell
  14. Water Resources Division
  15. Women and Child Development
  16. Programme Evaluation Organization
Office Memorandum:
Changing the name of 'Village and Small Industries Division' to "Village and Small Enterprises Division" dated 8/3/04